30 Days of Thanks – Day 11 – 2012

Happy Veteran’s Day … and a great big THANK YOU to all who have served and are serving in the Armed Forces and to the families who supported them from home.

I’ve been around the military since I was almost 4 years old when my mother married an American soldier.  This man adopted me and became my dad … not only am I thankful for his service, but I am thankful he loved me enough to give me his last name and to take care of me until the day he gave me away at my wedding … and even now, via phone calls and email, he is still watching out for me and my family almost daily!

My dad gave me away to a soldier … and we enjoyed the 12 years of active duty he served.  Not only did the military give us a great start in our married life, allow us to live in some amazing places, but it gave Daniel (and me too actually, by default) some amazing life skills and experiences and the chance to contribute to a cause greater than ourselves.

From February 2003 to February 2004, Daniel was deployed for Operation Iraqi Freedom, serving with a Combat Support Hospital, just north of Baghdad.

While that was a long year for all of us, I am so thankful we were able to give just a little bit towards the cause of freedom.  Many soldiers and their families have given up so much more – to the ultimate sacrifice of their lives.

And God brought us through the deployment … with the help of some great friends and our family.  Oh the stories I can tell about the bonds I formed during this time!  Life long friendships and precious memories of God’s loving care over me and over Daniel and his group in Iraq.

(Wow!!!  Daniel looks SO young!!! ^ … the picture is from February 2004.)

I still live in a military community and am reminded often of the daily sacrifice and service of our troops even now.  Make no mistake – we are still fighting the war on terror.  I try to pray often for our “Commander-in-Chief” that God would intervene on our behalf and continue to bless America and keep us safe amid the threats of our day.

What are you thankful for today?

This entry was posted in military, thankfulness. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 30 Days of Thanks – Day 11 – 2012

  1. Angie says:

    Well said. Thank you for your sacrifices!

  2. Dackel says:

    God Bless all of our military. My husband is a Vietnam Vet. Unfortunately they were not appreciated, or well treated when they came home.

Comments are closed.