Happy Homemaker–11/12/2012

HHMfall

It’s been a while since I’ve had time to link up with Sandrafor Happy Homemaker Monday; I’ve missed it!!

THE WEATHER:::

28 degrees but sunny – gorgeous Fall late morning.

RIGHT NOW I AM:::

sitting on the couch, relaxing, enjoying the last few moments of quiet before the busy day begins.

THINKING:::

that it truly isn’t STUFF that makes you happy in the long run … but occasionally “stuff” does give you a temporary thrill.  I got a $20 off code from Vera Bradley.com for my birthday this month … and I ordered a really nice weekender bag for very little money.  Now that is stuff that makes me happy!

ON MY READING PILE:::

Red Mistby Patricia Cornwell

ON MY TV:::

IT IS OFF right now.  I’m thinking later my husband will be watching some of the Veteran’s Day war movies on AMC.

ON THE MENU:::

I menu-planned so well for a while – but since my husband has been home, I just haven’t done it Sad smile

I do know we’ll be having little steaks (friends from church have stocked our freezer with THE BEST meat recently!!) and potatoes some time today!  Smile

ON MY TO-DO LIST:::

HOME SCHOOLING catch-up day today.  Due to sports tournament and day off for hubby’s appointment last week, we are going to have school today.  We didn’t really have any plans for the day … and so, we may as well do school work!

HOMEMAKING TIPS:::

I’m gonna say (to myself):  MENU PLAN!!!!  It not only saves you from that “what’s for dinner” panic in the afternoons … but I really do think it saves you money because you’re not tempted to grab fast food instead of cooking.

LOOKING AROUND MY HOUSE:::

I cleaned up Saturday so things are looking ok.  Just don’t look too close- I really need to dust and do some deeper cleaning SOON!!!

MiMi is still sleeping (she doesn’t nap any more so usually she sleeps fairly long at night).  The big kids are working on school.  Daniel is reading a book.  I’ve got my coffee and my lap top – nice start to the day all the way around.

FROM THE CAMERA:::

DSC01429

MiMi playing with my glasses.^

ON MY PRAYER LIST:::

my dad has some medical testing coming up (bone scan)

my husband’s leg that it will continue to heal (he still can’t put weight on it until early December) … he’s definitely getting out and about more – but is still mostly on the couch with his leg propped up.

my husband’s unemployment situation.  Waiting to hear about 2 more jobs – sadly neither is in Tennessee.

DEVOTIONAL THOUGHT:::

from the Moravian Text that is delivered to my email box every day:

Mortals look on the outward appearance, but the Lord looks on the heart. 1 Samuel 16:7

As he who called you is holy, be holy yourselves in all your conduct. 1 Peter 1:15

Lord, you find that little spark inside of us that grows into a burning flame for you. We want to work for you, the one who knows us inside and out. We know you have given us everything we need to complete the tasks you call us to. Amen.

blog sig

This entry was posted in Happy Homemaker. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy Homemaker–11/12/2012

  1. melanie says:

    I remember being an ‘underemployed’ teacher at our church’s tuition-free school 😉 and having a church family fill my freezer {that they also gave me} with meat from his brother’s butcher shop — such a blessing! I’m thankful you don’t have the stress of an empty larder, espec with hungry kiddos to feed!
    Continuing to pray for both healing and employment for Dan ~ God is faithful!

  2. Sandra says:

    I sure hope your husband is well on the road to recovery. Sent prayers up for your dad 🙂

    Hope you have a good week 🙂

  3. Dackel says:

    Today my thankfulness thought was about having warm clothes. I feel so sad for all the people in NY and NJ who lost everything. St. Vincent Du-Paul is bringing clothes, food and water to the stricken this week. So, today I got out three big bags and filled them with everything from socks, warm pajamas, shirts, pants and coats!

Comments are closed.