30 Days of Thanks – day 20 – 2012

What a difference a day makes … I spent last night sleeping restlessly after writing my blog post yesterday (thank you all for your sweet encouragement and advice!), alternately praying and thinking and praying … I am such an Insomnia Queen sometimes, but especially when something is on my mind.

My mind played over others who are suffering far harder situations than we are right now:  parents with critically sick children, people who lost everything in the recent Hurricane Sandy, starving children in Africa, orphans, widows, and the truly lonely – most of all, those who don’t know Christ, who don’t have hope.  You see, I have hope.

Hope is the substance of things hoped for … it is the evidence of things that are not seen.  It springs eternal.   The Bible promises that those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength!

Today, we went about our usual day – I was up early since I wasn’t sleeping well anyway, cleaned up around the house, even made a quick run to Walmart before the kids were really going!  With laundry going, the dishwasher sloshing, the cat litter finally cleaned up, and my toilet scrubbed, I was feeling a little more “normal”.  That’s what I think I often long for -just a “normal” without the worries of jobs and bills.  I am not entitled to “normal” and in fact, God often assigns me a “new normal” … I just stink at adapting, sometimes.

In the midst of a seemingly normal morning, I cooked lunch for my family (we had our “big meal” at lunch today – sweet and sour chicken and rice) – and my mother called, another normal in my life.   And while I was on the phone with my mom, my husband took a call on the cell phone:

This call was NOT normal … it was a request for an INTERVIEW … for a job right here, a really, really good job – other than it is right here.  But even right here has been my normal for over 11 years now.    What isn’t normal is that this job announcement closed on Novmeber 9th; we received notification that my husband was eligible/qualified on November 16; and today, November 20th, he is called for an interview on November 27th.  This is the fastest we’ve ever seen a job announcement process through its cycle like this.  I hope this means they are serious and in a hurry!!  There are other applicants, of course, but I could definitely see this job becoming a part of our normal.

I am thankful God already knows the outcome.  I am thankful He shakes up our normal sometimes … I am thankful HE is ultimately the One who defines normal anyway!

edit:  The daily Moravian devotional in my email inbox is thus:

Wednesday, November 21 — Psalm 130
1 Kings 13:23-14:20; John 17:1-19

Happy are those whose help is the God of
Jacob, whose hope is in the Lord their God. Psalm 146:5

For to this end
we toil and struggle, because we have our hope set on the living God, who is the
Savior of all people. 1 Timothy 4:10

Giver of hope, in times of struggle
and pain that we all feel at times; when the world is so heavy; and when we try to be strong for others but feel bitter and weak within—give us hope.
Amen.

 

This entry was posted in thankfulness. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 30 Days of Thanks – day 20 – 2012

  1. Angie says:

    Yay! Glad you’re doing a little better today! I probably won’t be on tomorrow so Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. Renee says:

    how wonderful…..

Comments are closed.