30 Days of Thanks–Day 26 – 2012

nov_thanks271

I’ve tried to bake with yeast all my life … well, practically. I want to make huge, yummy, doughy cinnamon rolls and big, fluffy loaves of bread. Perhaps God knows I shouldn’t become a good baker because I’d be even bigger than I already am!!? I’ve tried various yeasts (packets and jars) and changed up how hard or soft I knead the dough and I’ve let it rise just as the instructions say … but instead, I get not-fluffy, not-light, dense, icky rolls and bread.

Until today!! Today I was lured in by a recipe that promised rolls just like Lambert’s “throwed rolls”. Have you heard of Lambert’s?? There are only 3 locations in the whole USofA … and one is actually fairly close to us in Ozark, Missouri. And yes, they really do THROW rolls at you!! YUMMY, yeasty, calorie-filled rolls.

And today – I – “Cordelia” – an ordinary Hausfrau – successfully prepared and baked rolls very, very similar to the famous throwed rolls!!  I think my whole family was THANKFUL they turned out so well.  Smile

I knew it was promising when the dough rose just like the recipe said it should!

DSC01515

And the rolls baked up nice & big and fluffy!!  The baker, of course, gets to sample the first one!!

DSC01516

LOOK AT THAT ROLL:  the recipe

DSC01518

Would you like me to THROW one at you??!

blog sig

This entry was posted in recipes, thankfulness. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 30 Days of Thanks–Day 26 – 2012

  1. Dackel says:

    Yes I sure would! I have some other recipes for yeast bread that are good and easy if you would like them.

  2. Tanya says:

    Oops………NOW I see you have a link to the recipe. Thanks!

  3. Tanya says:

    Those are gorgeous! You must share the recipe. :o) I have just recently heard of Lambert’s. I let my breadmaker do the kneading for me so that I get it right. I am thankful for breadmakers. I think I am on my 4th one. I get new ones at a thrift store when mine dies.

Comments are closed.