Hodge Podge – 11/28/2012

Joining Joyce for her weekly Hodge Podge:

1.  Which do you prefer-pretty gift wrap with a bow or a pretty gift bag with/without a bow?  What percentage of your holiday gifts are currently (as in right this very minute) wrapped in some form or fashion?

I do like the look of a gift wrapped present with a bow and a homemade or nifty gift tag on it … but I’ll take a gift bag with some tissue paper thrown in – in a pinch!  🙂

As of right now I have purchased 1% of my Christmas gifts … and it is not wrapped.   Today at Aldi’s, a Step 2 easel (chalkboard/white board) was just reduced from $30 to $19!  That’s Miriam’s Christmas present!  🙂  But how does one wrap a 2 ft. tall easel?!

2.  What is one item on your Christmas list this year?

A job offer for my husband!!  He’s had a gabillion (ok, 3) interviews recently … and we’d love it if he got the job he interviewed for today!

3.  What makes a home?

My family, of course!!   The rest is just stuff … although some of the stuff that has sentimental meaning to me – like cherished Christmas ornaments, furniture from my grandparents, and such like – make it OUR home. 
4.  Motown founder Berry Gordy celebrates his birthday on Hodgepodge Day-November 28th. Are you a fan of the Motown sound?  If so, who’s your favorite Motown artist and/or song? Here’s a list in case you’re stuck.

Not a huge Mo-Town fan … but I’ve been known to sing some Diana Ross and Marvin Gaye songs!  🙂

5.  Red or green-which one is more prevalent in your closet?

Probably have equal amounts of both. 

6.  True or false-bacon makes it better? If you answered true, what’s your favorite dish made with bacon?

TRUE!!  I make a loaded baked potato soup that MUST have many strips of crushed up bacon strips in it. 

7.  Share a favorite holiday memory.

In 2009, we welcomed MiMi into our family on December 22 … She and I came home from the hospital on Christmas Eve Day.  And it snowed!! 

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

Truly time flies when you get older.  The last 2 days I’ve been home almost all day aside from a grocery shopping run and taking my kids to sports practice – and I still haven’t even gotten around to EVERYTHING I need to / want to do!!!  Meaning things like cleaning the bathrooms and catching up on laundry.  And yet, I seem BUSY all day long … how can this be??!  And I’m supposed to throw in creative ideas for Christmas gifts and write cards too?!!?  Feeling a little overwhelmed these days.  I’d really just like to “catch up” some day – and stay there longer than 5 minutes. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Hodge Podge – 11/28/2012

  1. Julia says:

    You let me know how to wrap that easel… I am giving two to my kids. LOL. Plus, my daughter is getting a dollhouse that we are putting together– no clue how to wrap that either. 🙂

  2. jodaley says:

    You could put a big red bow on the easel and stash it in a closet. Then wrap a small box and put a note inside saying-look in the closet. That could be fun. The picture in the stocking is just too adorbale for words : ) I will pray for your hubs and the job today!

  3. Tanya says:

    My day never has enough hours either. I guess I just have to choose the most important things to get done. I don’t think it will ever change. The new normal…..
    The laundry might get caught up, and then everyone gets ready for bed, and there is a whole new load to wash.

  4. Sammie says:

    I hope your hubby hears good news soon about a job.

  5. April says:

    Talk about a precious picture…a newborn baby in a stocking…so sweet! Yeah…I’m feeling a bit overwhelmed, too. Just ordered our Christmas cards and they’re ready to be picked up, but I have to write out Christmas newsletter, which I keep putting off. UGH!

  6. rebeccaonthehomefront says:

    I think I’d slap a red bow on the easel and call it good, lol. But I’m a bit wrapping-deficient like that.

    The picture of Mimi in a stocking is too precious…as is the memory of coming home to a snowy Christmas with her in your arms. *Love!*

  7. Marla says:

    I love Mimi’s stocking picture! So cute! And I agree with the others, the soup sounds deeeeelicious!

  8. diarysahm says:

    Love baked potato soup and yes, it needs tons of bacon in there 🙂
    Just prayed for you hubby again last night, for his healing and for the job he interviewed for 🙂

  9. penguinsauce says:

    There seriously needs to be more hours in the day for things we need to get done — there’s a lot. Baked potato soup with bacon bits sounds yummy!

  10. Laura Anne says:

    loving the baby in the stocking picture – and hope that your husband gets a job he doesn’t dread getting up every day for.

  11. Judy Loeffler says:

    Wishing your husband the best of luck. Loved the photo as well.

  12. Wayne says:

    Sending out my best vibes to your husband that he will find the job of his dreams.

  13. J.Day says:

    Baby in the stocking – too cute of a picture! As for the easel . . . good luck! lol

Comments are closed.