Hodge Podge–12/12/12

Hodgepodgebutton

Joining Joyce for Wednesday HodgePodge:

1. So, when did you last take a walk in the woods? A stroll along the beach? A drive going nowhere in particular in the car?

As a kid, I spent a lot of hours in the woods with my dog or or my family or my friends or by myself.  Right now I can’t think of the last time I wandered through the woods … Unfortunately, there are no good walking trails here like there were in other areas I’ve lived.  The last time I think of being in the woods is when my son and I were in Germany in March!

We did stroll the beach in September of 2011 on a school trip to Pensacola … but that too is a long time ago!

Now that we have 3 children and an ever-growing-tall son among them smooshing ourselves into either of the  2 vehicles that we currently have isn’t really very appealing.  I’ve been praying for a mini-van or over 3 years now – but that’s beside the point.  I can’t say we drive “nowhere” ever because it isn’t comfortable or fun … maybe we’ll ride around and see Christmas light this year since MiMi is almost 3 years old and at that age where all the Christmas sights are amazing to her.

2. Are you sending Christmas cards this year? About how many do you send? Photo card or something more traditional? How do you display the cards you receive?

I’ve wavered this year … I used to always send Christmas cards – over a hundred of them with pictures and a family letter.  Last year was the first time I hadn’t done that … I only sent out a very few cards to a very few people –circumstances just didn’t put me in the Christmas spirit.  I’m still up in the air about this years’ prospects of Christmas cards and/or letters.  The next few days will tell … there might just be some GOOD NEWS to share!!

I used to string up a line or two of ribbon on a long wall in our living room and display the cards we received there.  I love Christmas cards, which is why it pains me to NOT send them … but it seems more and more folks are just doing the on-line thing or not sending cards any more.

3. What’s a word you’ve heard too much of in the past week?

“HOLIDAY” this or that … it is OK to say CHRISTMAS, people!!!!!! 

4. December 13th is National Cocoa Day-are you a fan? Plain or flavored? Marshmallows or no marshmallows?

I do like an occasional cup of hot chocolate … I prefer plain – but with marshmallows or even better, whipped cream!! 

5. What is something you do to help alleviate the hectic pace of the Christmas season?

Say NO … and refuse to over-commit.  I don’t host any parties myself because there are already too many events to go to as is. 

6. Besides jewelry, what’s a favorite sparkly-glittery item in your home or closet?

Right now, it is my Christmas tree!  I don’t have a pre-lit tree … in fact, our tree is close to 20 years old!  BUT I just added a second string of white lights today – and it has made all the difference to sparkle up my old tree!  Smile 

7. Share a favorite line or two from any Christmas carol.

Still, still, still,
‘Cause baby wants to sleep.
The angels jubilate beautifully,
By the manger making music.

(An Austrian carol that has a hauntingly beautiful melody – the words are somehow much more poetic in its native German!)

8. Insert your own random thought here.

I am ready for 2013!!  This has been a reaaaaaaalllllllllllly long year for our family … and by God’s grace, we’ve almost made it – hopefully smarter, better, and with stronger faith.  We are looking forward to new beginnings in a new year – and perhaps even in a new location … but that’s all I can say for today.  Smile 

blog sig

This entry was posted in Hodge Podge. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Hodge Podge–12/12/12

  1. Nani says:

    I create and write the verse in our holiday cards, and they are holiday cards because while we celebrate Christmas, we send out almost 150 cards and not everyone on our list does. I always include a line that says something like “Our Christmas wish i a happy holiday season for you.” It’s sincere and to break everyone up to do separate cards is not in the Christmas spirit. It’s also more expensive!

    IMO you can never have too many lights! The extras always make the tree sparkle even more. Our Christmas tree is the one totally beautiful sparkly thing we have, but we’re putting it up this weekend, so it didn’t come to mind right away yesterday. (It was all Christmas cookies, all day)

  2. hoping you have a wonderful 2013!

  3. Pingback: What a Difference a Day Makes! | An Ordinary Hausfrau

  4. I am like you and can’t wait for 2013. This has been the worst year of my life and I just know that God has great plans for me in 2013.

  5. Tanya says:

    I am struggling with Christmas cards this year, too. I just don’t really have time this year. Christmas is less than 2 weeks away, and I am not ready at ALL!!! I guess cards are just low priority for me this year. Tim wants me to send at least some. I don’t feel very Christmas-y this year either, because we don’t have room for a tree or decorations. I have a little (2ft.) tree on the counter, but that is about it.
    Hang in there,
    Tanya

  6. Mrs. D says:

    Hi
    I’ve been visiting your blog via email, but have not commented recently. Just want you to know I’m still here and thank you for visiting me as well. Still praying that you’ll have some good news soon.

    Hmmm maybe you’ll find work in the North East and we’ll be able to visit in person. *** hee hee ***
    Only kidding… too far away from all your family. God has the best in store for you and His timing is perfect.

    God Bless!

  7. Rebecca says:

    I’m a big fan of “holiday”…there are so many wonderful holidays between Thanksgiving and New Year’s, I want to cover them all. 🙂 And it’s only recently that people have been upset about it…”Holiday Inn” is one of my favorite classic movies. 😉

    The Austrian Carol is absolutely beautiful, what a wonderful choice! I’ll keep my fingers crossed that you’ll receive the good news you’re hoping for!

  8. Hootin' Anni says:

    You’re teasing us….new location? There just might be good news to share? BTW, wish I thought of sparkling Christmas Tree.

  9. jodaley says:

    I do hope you hear good news on the job front! Keeping you in my prayers this week : )

  10. Marla says:

    Merry CHRISTmas to you – and here’s hoping you have a better 2013!

  11. April says:

    I am 100% with you on this time of year being Christmas. It’s always made me cringe a little to hear “Happy Holidays”. Hoping and praying that whatever new possiblities you’re facing right now, come through for you in a positive way.

  12. Judy says:

    Look forward to hearing about your great plans for 2013.

  13. Kara says:

    YES to Christmas and not holiday! 🙂 And hot chocolate is awesome with whipped cream! 🙂

  14. Sounds like you have a few changes in the works. I wish you good luck, especially if you are moving. That is a real chore and adjustment.
    I agree with you..it is Christmas!! not holiday.
    I too am ready for a New Year!

  15. J.Day says:

    I haven’t really strolled through woods or on a beach in a long time, as well.

  16. skoots1mom says:

    i so agree…it is CHRISTmas…no holiday calling around here.

Comments are closed.