Happy Homemaker Monday–12/17/2012

HHMwinter

THE WEATHER:::

37 degrees … gray and rainy and cloudy.  Snuggling weather.  Unfortunately, we have to attend a Christmas party this evening (well, nice to be invited but don’t really feel like dressing up and getting out!). 

RIGHT NOW I AM:::

waiting for the time to drive my son to basketball practice – hopefully for the last time this year!  Then we start all over again at an even more feverish pace with MORE “away” games than ever in January and February … but he loves it so it is worth it! 

THINKING:::

about the events in CT last Friday … it is just constantly on my mind.  It sure puts perspective on life’s brevity, doesn’t it?!  There are always several things that I want to lecture my children about – or things that frustrate me about them – but THANK GOD mine are alive and well.  Those commercials for St. Jude’s Children’s Hospital always do this to me too – those sweet, bald-headed, sick babies, smiling for pictures despite all the pain they have gone through … Sometimes I do hate this evil, old world and its sin and sickness and heart-ache.  And yet, God will right the wrong all in His time … it makes Heaven’s perfection seem so much sweeter!! 

ON MY READING PILE:::

I’ve just mindlessly leafing through magazines lately … I just can’t focus on a book.

ON MY TV:::

my husband is watching European soccer (?) … maybe just because that is all that’s on.  We do follow the World Cup or European Cup games every 2 years … it is weird to have it on right now. 

ON THE MENU:::

I’m a failure here again … I do know my kids are getting frito pie (or chili with corn chips) for dinner tonight. 

ON MY TO-DO LIST:::

Christmas everything … I haven’t gotten very far in any of the preparation. 

HOMEMAKING TIPS:::

Blank.

LOOKING AROUND MY HOUSE:::

Husband half-asleep, watching soccer. Son getting ready for basketball.  Daughter #1 working on school work … and Miriam running around without pants on !!!  Just another day here … Smile 

FROM THE CAMERA:::

18196_10151173341703199_992981253_n

ON MY PRAYER LIST:::

My brother-in-law is a pastor in the Danbury, CT area, very close to where the school shooting occurred.  On Saturday he was called on to work at a counseling center to talk to people and pray with them as they try to process the events of the incident.  He has such a heart to help … and I am sure he and his congregation will be seeking other ways to reach out. 

My husband’s job situation is ALMOST resolved … but still not signed, sealed and delivered.  Later this week a Professional Evaluation Board is meeting to evaluate his KSA’s (Knowledge, Skills, and Abilities), for which he had to write a narrative over the weekend.  After this, he will be given a salary offer … at which time he can officially accept this job (or reject it, as it were).   Until then … we’re still in limbo.

DEVOTIONAL THOUGHT:::

The Lord is near to the broken-hearted … Psalm 34

blog sig

This entry was posted in Happy Homemaker. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy Homemaker Monday–12/17/2012

  1. Dackel says:

    Always. We are blessed because we are loved so well by our Lord and Savior!

Comments are closed.