Hodge Podge – 12/19/2012

Hodgepodgebutton_thumb.jpg

Today I am joining Joyce for the last Hodge Podge of the year!   Merry Christmas!

1. How will you spend ‘the night before Christmas‘?

We will be spending the afternoon with friends … and then coming home to our house, just our family of 5.  The kids will open their new jammies; we will light candles and read the Christmas story.

2.  What is one thing you are not?

RICH!  LOL

Ok, seriously, I hope I am not ever fake.

3.  Fudge-are you a fan?  Your favorite flavor?

YES!  Just pure chocolate fudgy goodness … no nuts, please.

4. Did you attend any craft/vendor fairs in the month of December?  Do you prefer homemade goodies or the more professional stalls? Are you giving any homemade gifts this year?

Sadly, I did not attend any craft fairs.  The Army post near our home puts on a great bazaar each year, and our community also has a nice craft fair.  I prefer the home-made vendor stalls every time!  I’m not giving any homemade gifts this year.  I’d love to … I’m just not crafty or confident enough to do so, and I lack the time and organization right now too.

5. What’s your favorite type of holiday gathering?

QUIET.  Just me and my nearest and dearest with uncomplicated, stress-free foods and conversation.

6.  We’re approaching a new year…what’s going to be different in 2013?

For our family, GOD WILLING, a new job for my husband and eventually a new home town for us!!!  We should have things wrapped up by the end of the week, if this is truly going to happen.

7. Share a favorite scripture, quote, saying, or song lyric relating to peace.

Great peace have they which love thy law and nothing shall offend them.  Psalm 119:165

My mom always quoted this to me in high school when “nothing is fair” … I am reminded of it often lately as we have gone through some offenses with God’s peace – and are coming out of it as better people, stronger Christians, I hope.

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

Wow, 2012 is coming to a close … Nostalgia always seem to overtake me this time of year.  Some years we’ve been euphorically happy because of events of the year … other years, like this one, I’m just ready to say “good riddance!”.  But every year, I see how God has worked and led and provided … not matter what the circumstances.  For this, I am most grateful.

blog-sig_thumb.png

This entry was posted in Hodge Podge. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Hodge Podge – 12/19/2012

  1. Nani says:

    Strangely it seems that most women want a quie6t, stress-free holiday. I wonder if it’s because we’re the ones who do the huse and home preparation, cooking and cleaning? I know it would be nice to just let the house go and do a little less baking…and trust Hubby to do the decorating without me. But, I think maybe the stress is part of what gives me the satisfaction; I do it for everyone else. Which means I deserve a spa gift for Christmas, right? 🙂

    I like your random thought or today. I definitely get nostalgic at this time of year. It gives me an opportunity to look back on the year and see the good memories are stronger than the bad ones and remember those who aren’t with me anymore and realize I am too happy they were here to remain sad that they are gone.

    Merry Christmas!

  2. J.Day says:

    I am definitely not rich, either! lol

  3. Judy says:

    Have a Merry Christmas and I hope the new year is everything you want.

  4. jodaley says:

    I do hope and pray things work out on the job front! Wishing you and your family a Merry Christmas!

  5. Laura Anne says:

    Loved the stress free Christmas with my Mum last year when it was just the two of us! Not going to be like that this year!

  6. Sammie says:

    Laughed so hard out loud at your answer to number too, it echos in the stillness of the house at night!

    Hope things work out with the job for 2013!

  7. Kara says:

    Uncomplicated, stress free food sounds wonderful to me too! We haven’t got our plan all figured out yet, but that’s definitely my goal. 🙂

Comments are closed.