Feeling Like Christmas

8284285480_e31265705e

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Today I finished my Christmas shopping … as far as I know anyway!  I hope I don’t think of something or someone I have forgotten!!  I really don’t want to go to a store again until AFTER Christmas.

That said, around here, it hasn’t been that bad … Even yesterday, we unexpectedly had to take someone to the St. Louis airport as her original ride was canceled due to sickness.  It’s always a little daunting to drive into “the big city” … but traffic wasn’t bad.  We stopped by the mall after dropping off our friend and found a parking place close to Barnes & Noble which is where my husband wanted us to park him with his broken leg.  We actually didn’t buy one thing at the mall … but it was fun to window shop and look at the Christmas decorations.

Today two girl friends and I went to a nearby outlet mall, Kohl’s, Target, and Ross.  Of course, that included lunch, coffee, and ice cream!  🙂  Surprisingly again, not too many crowds out at all.

And so, I’m ready to just wrap gifts now … think about our Christmas dinner (AT MY HOUSE!!!! YEH!!!  I get to cook!!!) … and ENJOY the season without any stress.  I hate that people get all anxious and stressy at this supposed-to-be JOYFUL occasion!  The materialism that seems to take over is probably Satan’s plot to make us forget the Christ Child … and while I’m definitely thankful we had some money to even buy gifts this year, I am grateful that the gifts can’t be the focus because they are smaller yet more meaningful this year for our family.

The next few days, I plan to focus on my family, my friends (who are more precious to me this year than ever – I am still overwhelmed with the generosity of many precious loved ones!!), and my God.  These are the blessings of this season.

blog-sig_thumb.png

 

This entry was posted in christmas, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Feeling Like Christmas

  1. diarysahm says:

    I hope you and your family have a wonderful Christmas and a blessed new year 🙂

    Enjoy the next few days!

  2. Tanya says:

    We got groceries this morning. Yikes!!! When we went in, it wasn’t too bad, but oh my goodness!! When we came out, it was absolutely crazy busy.

  3. melanie says:

    Glad you could enJOY both of your days out ~ Merry Christmas!

Comments are closed.