Our New Home

DSC01611

It is OFFICIAL:  on January 28, bright and early, Daniel will be entering this parking lot to begin his orientation for his NEW JOB!!!  🙂

Suddenly, I am excited … but scared and nervous … but mostly I’m excited.

This will be a long process to completely move our family to an adjoining state about 4 hours from where we live now – but in God’s providence, He gave Daniel a job where his parents actually live at the half-way point between “here” and “there”.

We are SO ready to start taking action … Daniel started packing his books last night.  This alone will be a daunting task as we have 7 full bookcases in our living room, bookcases in every bedroom (in most cases more than 1), and in a hallway – and there are about 15 bookcases in the garage!!  Plus we have 2 rows of “kitchen” cabinets and 5 floor cabinets in our storage room of VCR tapes (yep, VCR!!).  We have a friend who is providing us with boxes from his work – boxes they’d normally throw out or recycle.  We’re going to need A LOT of boxes!!  Thankfully, some of those boxes will go to our former school, friends, and the local Goodwill too.

I took down the many, many pictures of our kids from the stairwell yesterday too (I am painting the oak frames kind of a platinum color eventually) … and already things are beginning to look just a little like WE ARE MOVING!  Not that we are officially moving our whole family for a few months yet – but we’re going to need to work steady until then.

I will be blogging about the process, no doubt – mostly to just motivate myself and to document our progress … Somehow I don’t foresee an eBook by me about “How to Move Your Family Across State Lines in 5 Months or Less”.  🙂  At least not an eBook that would be in any way helpful or in demand – although it could prove to be very amusing!!

Anyway, THANK YOU to all who have prayed with us and for us … who have read my blog and my ramblings … who leave me sweet, encouraging comments … and who are my friends!!  I look forward to sharing our new experiences with you!

blog-sig_thumb.png

This entry was posted in moving. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Our New Home

  1. Michelle says:

    Congratulations on Daniels job! Praying all goes smoothly for your move and transition to a new place!

  2. melanie says:

    I will second Tanya’s suggestion of book lists. I think I only did it with one of our moves, but it was so nice (helpful!) to look at the list and say, I need the book XYZ and it is in box #27… instead of opening every “likely” box until I’d found the book or given up 🙂 Espec recommended for the more long-term process of moving those beloved books into their new home!

  3. Tanya says:

    We had the same issues with books when we moved!! We did try to cut some of them down, but we didn’t get rid of many. We are “book” people, as I know you are. ;o) It doesn’t get any better with homeschooling — “I might need to use this book with the next child.” You should see our garage attic where everything is stored. I did make a master list of what is in each box — even lists of book titles. It got to be too much the closer moving day came, so we have just a few boxes that don’t have a list of which books are in them.
    Anyway, so glad to hear your news. So thankful for the Lord’s provision.

  4. Rebekah says:

    Yeah for answered prayers!! So happy for you guys.

  5. Oh, my goodness! I’m so excited for you!! It just feels so good to get started on the packing, doesn’t it?!

    Congratulations to Daniel! I’m so thankful for the answered prayer. I pray this will be a grand adventure in 2013. 🙂

  6. Sandra says:

    Praise the Lord Connie, I know how much you guys wanted this. So excited for you, can’t wait to follow along on this journey 🙂

  7. Dackel says:

    I am so excited for you all!!!!

  8. Amy says:

    Hooray! I’m happy for you, even if you ARE moving away instead of closer to me! But maybe you can stop and visit on your way to see your folks? 🙂

  9. I am so happy for you and your family. I know how hard it is to find a job, I lost mine almost a year ago and still haven’t been able to find any offline work (online work is holding the fort, but I feel like I need to be able to get out of the house and actually be around people!)

  10. So happy the job is happening…. do not envy you the joy of packing and moving

Comments are closed.