Happy Homemaker Monday–1/14/2013

HHM2013

Joining Sandra and Friends for HHM

THE WEATHER:::

20 degrees!! brrrrr…..We got a light layer of sleet/ice on Saturday night – but not enough to make the streets dangerous.

RIGHT NOW I AM:::

Taking a minute for ME … Busy this morning with getting the kids started on school then ran errands with my husband.  In 2 weeks he will begin his orientation for his new job!!  Smile  So I’m enjoying every moment I can with him before we live in 2 separate households for a few months until we can get our house fixed up and sold.

THINKING:::

About all that needs to be done!  My list just grew a mile with the confirmation that we ARE moving in a few months.  BUT the good news is we have a few months …

ON MY READING PILE:::

Another Cat Who book for relaxing (The Cat Who Dropped a Bombshell).  In my Bible reading I’m in Hosea (see my devotional thought at the end of post).  Also am supposed to be reading some books for review – but somehow none of them are calling out to me Sad smile

ON MY TV:::

Not much … Our newest show to watch is celebrity cook-off on Food Network on Sunday nights.  The silly reason I began to watch was that one of the contestants (who I have NEVER heard of – haven’t heard of too many of them, quite honestly!) shares my first name – my REAL first name!!!!  And she is pretty and stylish and not a grandmother-type that my real name invokes.  My REAL first name is NOT Cordelia, by the way!  Winking smile  But it is close!  Only my nearest, dearest friends know this secret about me!!  Now potentially, the entire internet may know …

ON THE MENU:::

We have a freezer full of meat – tons of ground beef, thanks to a dear friend who cleaned out his freezer to help us out.  Also chicken breasts were on sale at Sam’s Club recently for $1.77/lb.so we stocked up.  And some other mystery things way down deep in there:   I really need to inventory and get my menus planned.  I’m thinking some good stew meat is in there and a pork tenderloin (for BBQ!).  One good thing about moving is you start to clean out freezers and pantries, getting rid of older things.

ON MY TO-DO LIST:::

giving my house a thorough cleaning and sort things by “give away” or “pack away” and keep out til the end (when we actually move).

HOMEMAKING TIPS:::

I’ve been reading A LOT about home staging recently.  Not that my house will ever look like something on HGTV – but I do hope to have a clean, comfy home to show … We very much like our house to feel “lived in” – but organized at the same time (is the goal!).  I like to have a place for everything, and everything in its place.  Without looking cluttered (this is the challenge!).

I’ve recently taken a lot of pictures off the walls and I am finding I really like the calm of the “white space” … Sometimes the eyes just need to REST.

LOOKING AROUND MY HOUSE:::

Daniel and Drew are packing a few more book boxes – yeh!!  MiMi and Annie-Belle are playing like they are going “shopping” … And I’m thinking my quiet time should be about over.

FROM THE CAMERA:::

the kitties are liking the packing boxes!

DSC01641

ON MY PRAYER LIST:::

My friend Amy (you know about her if you’re my friend on fb) is a younger-than-me mom of 5 (from age 19 down to 2 years old) who has been in ICU for over a week at Walter Reed Army Medical Center in DC.  She has been dx’d with toxic shock syndrome which is shutting down her kidneys and liver – she is intubated and undergoing dialysis as well as being treated for fevers due to infection (there is yeast in her blood as well) and anemia (bleeding in her stomach).  She has good days and bad days – some thing will improve and something else will be worse each day …. I can’t imagine the roller coaster ride of emotions that her husband and children are dealing with!

It is official that my husband begins his job orientation on January 28th!!  Smile  Meanwhile, there is some paperwork to take care of – like his background check and such like.

DEVOTIONAL THOUGHT:::

Today’s Bible reading gave me a chuckle!

I am reading about Hosea, the Old Testament prophet whom God told to marry a prostitute to be a picture of His love for the nation of Israel.  While Israel – like the prostitute – is going astray, worshipping other gods, and being unfaithful in general, God – like the prophet – with mercy and love keeps calling the wayward spouse back.

In chapter 3 verse 1, God gives Hosea a command:  “Then the Lord said to me (Hosea), ‘Go again, love a woman who is loved by her [companions], even as the Lord loves the sons of Israel, though they turn to other gods and love raisin cakes’.”   What made me chuckle is that Israel loved its raisin cakes more than the important things … raisin cakes!!  LOL  Doesn’t that just sound so human – we love our “cake” and want to eat it too.  In our sinful, self-centered way, we’d rather satisfy our petty longings and appetites than do what God wants or wills.

I did a little study on raisin cakes … and apparently they were something special in Bible times:  in Song of Solomon (2:5), the king is seduced and sustained by his lover’s raisin cakes and apples in his love sickness.  I think I’d prefer a chocolate cake Winking smile

blog sig

This entry was posted in Happy Homemaker. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Happy Homemaker Monday–1/14/2013

  1. I am just so excited for you!! Yay!! I know this move will be good for you and your family. Going through your house surely will be lots of work, it is a blessing you have a little time to do this. I pray for your friend. Sorry to hear about that. And, friend, Thank You for your prayers!! Your words and prayers about my dads heart means so very much to me!!!
    Bless you,
    Susie

  2. Tanya says:

    I have known and loved your real name for many years, Anne with an “E.” ;o) (NO, it’s not Anne to anyone else reading!) I have never once thought of an old grandmother -type. Guess your friendship just gave me the type-cast for your name all along.
    Just love your devotional thought! Isn’t it amazing how deep and vast the Words of God can be but yet so simple and on-our-level, too?!
    Praying for you often!

  3. Sandra says:

    And I sat here trying to figure out your first name and still have absolutely no clue LOL So no worries on my part, I won’t be able to tell anyone LOL

    I know moving is stressful but am so glad your husband got a job now, I know how much you all wanted this 🙂

  4. melanie says:

    Our enormous Christmas tree finally went out the door on Saturday. Once again, our living room is ..s..p..a..c..i..o..u..s.. 🙂 Thinking of you as you start packing your house up ~ Enjoy your week!

  5. Naomi says:

    I love your devotional thought! Raisin cake most definitely highlights how human we are! I’m sure your real first name isn’t grandmother-ly whatever it may be! Have a lovely week 🙂

Comments are closed.