Happy Homemaker

HHMbutton Joining Sandra today for Happy Homemaker Monday:

The
Weather:::

I am guessing 40ish degrees outside.  Rumor has it that snow is heading our way tomorrow!  I really don’t mind, as long as I don’t have any where to go!

Right now I am:
Taking it easy for a few minutes.  I hit the ground running this morning – starting with helping my husband replace our toilet seat at 7:30 a.m.  He promised he’d do it while he was home this weekend, and considering he was leaving around 8 a.m., I guess he was keeping his promise!  Then I had to make a few phone calls for appointments – and a friend called me just in time for me to talk a few minutes before leaving for a quick appointment.
Thinking:
It’s going to be a semi-busy week!  Today Annie-Belle has her theater class.  Tomorrow it is back to sports practice for the big kids …

Then they don’t know it yet, but I have an appointment with the vet to put down our Ella kitty tomorrow afternoon while they are gone.  😦   Daniel and I decided over the weekend that it is just time to do it.  😦  Ella has been sick and wasting away since July … she vomits almost daily – often more than once.  She is just skin and bones – and while she doesn’t seem to be in pain, she is just pretty pitiful right now.   😦
On my reading
pile:::

In my Bible reading, I’m in Micah!  While I’ve never really been a fan of the Minor Prophets (took a class on them in Bible College, but unfortunately, wasn’t mature enough to really pay much attention!), I am getting a lot of little insights from these short books of the Bible.  For example:  Micah 6:8

He has showed you, O man, what is good; and what does the LORD require of you, but to do justly, and to love mercy, and to walk humbly with your God?

On
my tv:::
 
Our latest Sunday night Food Network show is now “Worst Cooks in America” … it is entertaining.

On the
menu for this week:::

Hubby is gone all week so kid friendly recipes are in order:  probably just spaghetti, tacos, and maybe cheese pizza.  The big kids are at their final tournament for the sports season on Thursday and Friday so no meals at home those days.  Daniel will be home again on Saturday!  🙂

On
my to do list:::

Oh my … just STUFF … lots of little things that need my attention.  AND some cleaning, some packing, some organizing … and hopefully it will culminate in a trip to Goodwill by the end of the week to drop off MORE stuff!

Homemaking
Tips:::

I don’t have any tips whatsoever … I’m just trying to keep my head above water right now!

Looking around the
house:::

There are dishes in the sink waiting to be put in the dish washer which is waiting to be emptied by Annie-Belle.  I’m tempted to do it for her because that child is SO behind in her work and school … but I’m not gonna.  Yet.

Miriam is wearing her pjs and a princess crown and coloring …  Drew is done with school already (Annie-Belle hasn’t even started) … and I need to get this wrapped up and get busy!

From the
camera:::

MiMi loved the snow/ice last week:

(SORRY THE PICTURE DISAPPEARED!!)

PRAYER REQUESTS:::

My husband wrapped up his job training last Friday, and today is his first day to work without someone watching over his shoulder.  He’s so ready to just get started – although working his new shift will be an adjustment – 2 p.m. to 10:30 p.m. (he’s such a morning person, he’s going to be exhausted by 8 p.m.!  but he’ll get used to it in time … and hopefully this shift isn’t for ever.)   His job is such an answer to prayer … although we continue to pray that he can work his way up in the system at this hospital or elsewhere in veterans healthcare.

My blog friend Charla’s son who has been dx’d with his second bout of cancer.

My friend Amy who was in ICU for about 6 weeks is still in the hospital but doing better!  Her main issue right now is anxiety as she deals with physical and occupational therapy and thinking about what her future holds.

My dad is undergoing upper GI medical testing soon to determine what is causing him major discomfort … He spent a weekend in the hospital recently – but the doctors there never really figured out what was causing his pain either.  They just pumped him full of antibiotics and sent him home.

This entry was posted in Happy Homemaker. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Homemaker

  1. Sandra says:

    It’s so hard to put down a family pet, but you’re right, sometimes it the most humane thing to do, we have to do what is right for our beloved pet and not have them around suffering just because we can’t let them go. Praying for you all.

    Hope you have a great week otherwise 😉

  2. Tanya says:

    I certainly understand about Ella. Hang in there! As you know, it is what we did two weeks ago. Hard to do, but we knew it was the right thing. Callie didn’t even have enough fight in her to fight getting in the carrier to go to the vet. But I kept saying (through my tears even) knowing it is the right thing to do doesn’t make it any easier. Praying for you now!!!

Comments are closed.