HodgePodge Wednesday – 3/6/13

Hodgepodgebutton

Joining Joyce for HodgePodge Wednesday …

It’s been a while – and I’ve missed doing this!

1.  My real life friends came through with another question this week so thank you real life friends. When you’ve eaten in a restaurant do you complete their comment card? Do you take online surveys highlighted at the bottom of store receipts?

I don’t often fill out a comment card … BUT I do take the online surveys sometimes in hopes of winning whatever they are offering or getting a code for free something.
2. The (US) ban on women in combat was lifted at the end of January. It will probably be next year before specifics are worked out, but its been reported over 200,000 front line positions will eventually open up to women.  Your thoughts?

I thought about it a long time ago … In 2003 my husband went to Iraq with an Army combat hospital that included many, many competent and capable and very well trained women.  HOWEVER, my thoughts sometimes went to a scenario where – say – the convoy the unit was traveling with was attacked, and my husband was injured and needed to be dragged to saftey, could one of those women do it if they were the only ones around?  My husband is 6’2″ and weighs over 200 lbs … (not that he’d want the internet world to know that!!).
While I think a well-trained, motivated woman could very well carry a heavy M-16 or shoulder a bazooka, I just wonder if they might not just be hindered by physical size.  I also think – or would think – a woman might require extra hygeniene that a field unit can’t really provide (although granted, it can be done as the hospital my husband was with lived literally in open tents or in the sand until their hospital was set up … with no running water, only water bottles for baths, shaving, etc … and the women soldiers with them dealt with it too).

I’ve wondered that about women who are firefighters, for example, too – it is a worthy career – but can a woman carry her male partner out of danger when he has all his equipment on?  Granted, I’ve never been in that scenario – and I have zero desire to work in a traditionally man’s role, so I don’t know … but I have a doubt or two.
3.  In looking back at all the blog posts you’ve written, what’s your favorite post title?

The Most Exciting Entry I’ve Written – May 14, 2009
4. What’s worse-overly permissive parents or overly protective parents?  Did your own parents lean more to the permissive or the protective category?  If you’re a parent where do you fall?

I worked at a school for 7 years … I’ve seen both many times over – and seen the detriments of both types of parenting.  Granted, the parents themselves never saw it and obviously thought they were doing the best they knew how for their child … and in the end, I wonder if it isn’t the motives or heart that win out in the end??  I’m not sure … I’ve seen a lot of spoiled children in my time!!

One of my biggest fears in life is that I won’t have parented well myself.  I have read a gazillion books and talk constantly to friends, especially listening to those who have raised kids who are doing well and seem balanced.  I think that is my goal:  balance in parenting.  I definitely want to protect my kids – but not to the point where they are naive or can’t make a decision on their own when the situation arise … and yet, I definitely want to allow my kids to experience some hardships or face a tough consequence because we often learn best by our own mistakes … I will say though that I think I err on the side of protective!
5.  Candlelight-moonlight-firelight-bright lights in the big city…which one’s your favorite?

I like them all in their own way … candlelight hides a multitude of dust and you can’t beat it for atmosphere and coziness.  Moonlight is so lovely – especially when the moon is huge and full and bright.  Firelight – well, nothing beats a cozy fire, especially in winter, wrapped up in a blanket and maybe with a loved one.  And bright lights of a big city are exciting!!!  Not that I’d want to live in those bright lights – but how exciting to visit them occasionally.

6. Dr. Seuss’s birthday was celebrated on Saturday. What’s a favorite book you remember (Seuss or otherwise) from your own childhood?  Did books play an important role in your growing up years? Explain.

Not from my childhood … I don’t really remember Dr Suess.  BUT I remember so much from our kids’ childhoods.  We read A LOT of Dr Suess and with a 3 year old in the house, we still do.  I think we own about every children’s book he has written!
7.  To quote Dr. Seuss…

“From there to here, and here to there, funny things are everywhere.”
from One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish
Share something funny you’ve recently read, seen or heard.
Funny things happen at our house every day … The kids provide so much laughter and funny things, especially a 3 year old who is trying to figure it all out.  Recently, every morning when she wakes up, she comes down the stairs and happily observes, “The sunshine is on!” … She also recently turned out the light in my bedroom, and as she exited, she informed me, “Mom, I turned on the dark.”
She’s also had some interesting food experiences … one we barely saved her from:  at our church potluck this past Sunday, she was reaching for a jalapeno pepper slice, thinking it was a “pickle”!   She has also eaten (well, put in her mouth and spit out) an olive, thinking it was a grape.

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

Tonight we went to a community theater production of Oliver! … and I was blown away!  The group is mainly homeschool children and their parents/families.  It was well done and very inexpensive (and well worth the price!).  I hope we can find something like that to attend when we move … or even for my kids (specifically Annie-Belle) to participate in.  Annie-B is attending a home school theater class on Mondays for 2 hours … and she LOVES it – she is quite the Drama Queen!  🙂   I love it that she is so uninhibited and doesn’t fear being “on stage” – quite unlike me who’d rather go to the dentist than speak in public.

Speaking of dentist, now that we have insurance again (thanks to hubby’s new job!), I have scheduled my entire family to go to the dentist … We go in 2 weeks … and suddenly I feel inclined to floss my teeth daily (as if it makes up for the neglect of flossing only hit-or-miss for the last 2 years …).  LOL  Am I the only one who does that??!!  🙂  And do I really think the hygienist will commend my flossing and think I was flossing all along??!  🙂

cordelia-sig_thumb.png

This entry was posted in Hodge Podge. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to HodgePodge Wednesday – 3/6/13

  1. jodaley says:

    ‘I turned the sunshine on’…I love that!

    No, I don’t think you’re the only one who neglects flossing until an upcoming dental appt prompts us to do just that. I’m pretty sure dentists know this though : ) Congrats on the new job!

  2. The Henrys says:

    The little ones always say the cutest things! Be sure you write them down – you don’t think you’ll forget, but sadly, you do. And yep, right there with you on the flossing thing! Have a good day!

  3. Judy says:

    I love to see amateur theater. They put their hearts and souls into it.

  4. veronica says:

    Ha! I always floss my teeth the week before the dentist…but thats about the only time 😉 I love reading Dr. Seuss books aloud, but sometimes they get me tongue tied! When I was teaching, I would keep a little book of all the funny things my students would say…I love how their little brains work to figure things out! Happy Wednesday!

  5. Sammie says:

    Gotta love the little ones! The are the best kind of entertainment out there and free at that! I laugh and smile more than anything when my niece is over and what wonderful memories that are made from the simplest of things! 🙂

  6. Mary says:

    I definitely think the physical aspects of our genetic make-up would hamper females.
    Community theaters are the best! I went to “Anne of Green Gables” last summer, and it was amazing.

  7. April says:

    “The sunshine is on!” That’s just too cute! Great answer about women in the military…and I’m in complete agreement. I remember how wonderful it felt to finally have insurance,again, after 11 LONG months! Seems like we got every appt. under the sun knocked out in about a month.

  8. Wayne says:

    Oliver is always a fun play to go see. Glad you enjoyed it.

  9. Linda E.H. says:

    You’ve brought up some very good points about women in combat.

    I love your three-year-old’s sayings. “The sunshine is on!” and “Mom, I turned on the dark.” How adorable is that! I miss those days. My daughter is almost 15. She’s a good teenager but she’s still a teenager, trying to find out who she is and pushing the limits at times.

  10. Miss CB says:

    Nope, you are not the only one to floss the week before a dentist appointment, so you’re not really lying when they ask if you’ve been flossing. lol

  11. melanie says:

    Wow, you are ahead in this blogging game! 😉

    Women in combat is another example of feminist philosophy that destroys women. I am woman, hear me roar… {trying to be gracious here, but…} Just because one CAN do a ‘job’ doesn’t mean one always should. Stories of Deborah & Jael or Molly Pitcher are stories of women who do what must be done when men are unable or unwilling.

Comments are closed.