Happy Homemaker Monday – 3/11/2013

HHMbutton

Joining Sandra and friends today for HHM:

THE WEATHER:::

brrrr, it got cold again!  We woke up to frost on the windows and 27 degrees.

RIGHT NOW I AM:::

Taking a few minutes for COMPUTER TIME … then it is time to get busy!  I have been up “early” (for me, 8 a.m.) since my husband had to drive back to Arkansas today after spending the weekend here.  So, I saw him off and then cleaned up the living room from last night’s movie-night mess and loaded the dishwasher.  Good to have SO MANY dishes dirty because that means I was cooking for my family this weekend.  🙂

THINKING:::

The usual thoughts about what all I need to do …

Reminding myself that it will all get done EVENTUALLY …

Remembering to be thankful for so many blessings …

Dwelling on how God has provided our needs over the last few months and continues to do so as we try to make it with 2 households to maintain until we can sell our house here.

ON MY READING PILE:::

In the Bible – still in the Minor Prophets – Habakkuk.  Kind of excited about reading these as an adult (I had to read them as a young adult for a college course but I didn’t really “get it” back then!).  They do have so much to offer!

Just reading some mags that have come in the mail:  REAL SIMPLE and FAMILY CIRCLE

ON MY TV:::

IT IS OFF!  🙂

ON THE MENU:::

We’ll only be home Monday and Tuesday this week … going to stay w/ hubby for the remainder of the week.  🙂

I have ingredients for lasagna so thinking that will be on the menu tonight.

I also have left-over ham, so I’ll probably make a casserole out of it (actually, it is called ham-and-broccoli skillet … no baking involved!)

Not sure what I’ll conjure up in Arkansas as I’m not sure what my hubby has in his kitchen right now!

ON MY TO-DO LIST:::

Several phone calls for things …

Cleaning, laundry, catch up on home-school grading and paperwork.

HOMEMAKING TIPS:::

I was reading some pinterest tips on cleaning … and did you know that most hotel housekeepers clean bathrooms “dry”.  That is, they don’t douse everything with water and scrub with wet sponges.  They use DRY microfiber cloths or papertowels (less eco-friendly) to wipe down surfaces sprayed with cleaners.  Makes sense to me … even sometimes using a Lysol-type disinfecting wipe in the bathroom, I notice it just kind of pushes around the dirt … a dry cloth would pick that up!

LOOKING AROUND MY HOUSE:::

Big kids home-schooling … Little one still sleeping (the time change did affect her).  Dishwasher running, some Christian music playing, load of laundry waiting patiently for me to get to it.  🙂

FROM THE CAMERA:::

NOTHING right now.

ON MY PRAYER LIST:::

Blog friend’s son HARRISON facing cancer treatment.

My friend Amy, who was in ICU for soooooooo long,  is HOME … no rehab hospital for her … she is HOME!!  Praise God!  She is a living miracle!

My dad is having some minor tests in the days ahead to determine the cause of some discomfort in his digestive tract and esophagus.

DEVOTIONAL THOUGHT:::

Something I remind myself of OFTEN:  God’s ways are not our ways … God’s way are BETTER.  🙂

cordelia-sig_thumb.png

This entry was posted in Happy Homemaker. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy Homemaker Monday – 3/11/2013

  1. Sandra says:

    Oh Connie, I am SO happy to read that Amy is home. I’ve been praying for her since the very beginning, that is amazing news. Praise the Lord!

    Hope you have a wonderful week with your husband and kiddos 🙂

  2. Naomi says:

    So pleased for your friend Amy! Have a wonderful week 🙂

  3. Kat says:

    Just popped over from Sandra’s HHM! Like the tip for the bathroom; will try that this week:) Your devotional thought is such an important one for us the remember.

  4. melanie says:

    Oh, exciting news about Amy! I hope it’s warmer in Arkansas for you ~ Have a great week! 🙂

Comments are closed.