Happy Homemaker Monday – 3/18/2013

HHMbutton

Joining Sandra again for another Happy Homemaker Monday:

The weather….

After gorgeous weather last Friday and Saturday, things really cooled off here again with fierce thunder storms last night.  I’m not sure what the exact temp is at the moment, but it is cool-ish. 
Right now I am….

Taking a lunch break.  The kids got biscuits with a fried egg, bacon, and cheese.  I just ate my biscuits (yes, 2 of them!) with butter and strawberry jam … and some left-over breakfast coffee. 
Thinking….

After spending the weekend with my husband in our future hometown, I am so excited to move!!   It’s all coming back to me:  after 11+ years of living in “the middle of no where”, it was SO NICE to be near shopping and lovely walking trails and parks again and all the conveniences of living near/in a city.  The variety is just amazing – and my daughters and I spent 5+ hours shopping on Friday afternoon/evening (taking a few minutes to EAT, of course!).  The variety of stores (from Target to 3 Goodwills) were amazing and the bargains abounded!!  😉   What is hilarious is that we spent the most time total at Walmart, which is the only big store we have here in our area in the “middle of no where” too. 
On my reading pile….

My mother-in-law found a few Grace Livingston Hill books at a thrift shop and is letting me read them.  I read these books as a teenager, and they are very simple and somewhat unbelievable now that I’ve lived in reality as an adult for a long time (!!), but it is good, clean, Christian reading.  

On my TV…..

Nothing. 

Something fun to share….

Not much seems “fun” right now … just a lot of work, work, work!!  🙂  Fun for me right now is cleaning the house well (last week I tackled the couches for a deep clean and some baseboards and the light fixtures in the living and dining rooms).  My kitchen needs a good deep clean (again) … well, and so does the rest of my house!! 
On the menu for this week….

Lots of kid-friendly, but hopefully healthy, meals.  What are your kids favorite meals??  I am foreseeing a lot of pasta/spaghetti and Mexican meals coming up!! 
On my to do list….

I got the “go” from my husband to start calling our contractor/handyman friends to line them up to get estimates for doing some work to get our house ready to put on the market.  

We also have appointments almost every day this week – today the dog goes to the vet for shots … hopefully being current on shots will help her get adopted some time SOON (we can’t take her when we move).  We also all have dentist appointments this week, and I get to have my lovely “annual” exam with my doc.   

Looking forward to this week….

Friday or Saturday morning, we’re going back to Northwest Arkansas to spend a few more days with my husband … It will be a Spring Break of sorts for us. 
Looking around the
house….

Big kids finishing up lunch and finishing up school work (I hope!).  MiMi is playing with Annie-Belle’s Polly Pockets (I’m so glad we kept some of our old toys!). 
From the camera….

20130314_162817
On my prayer list…..

friends recovering from surgery and undergoing cancer treatments;  my dad having medical tests this month; and patience to wait on God’s timing on the sale of our house. 
Bible verse,
Devotional….

“This is God’s universe, and God does things his way. You may have a better way, but you don’t have a universe.”  J. Vernon McGee

cordelia-sig_thumb.png

This entry was posted in Happy Homemaker. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy Homemaker Monday – 3/18/2013

  1. Tori says:

    Love the picture. Congrats on moving. Hope you have a great week! 🙂

  2. Sandra says:

    I think you’re going to really enjoy living in the new area. And 3 Goodwills? I would be ALL over that lol

  3. melanie says:

    We enjoy Dr. McGee ~ love the old, (un)common sense preachers 😀

Comments are closed.