Oh Goody, Another Day!

It’s been one of those weeks … and it is only Wednesday.  Things didn’t start out so well on Monday morning.  But we avoided a potential car repair disaster … and I ended my day with white chocolate covered strawberries to cheer me up.  🙂  That’s not so bad after all.

Tuesday was somewhat of a quieter day, thankfully, or else I might not have been able to handle all that was thrown at me on Wednesday.

We have been plagued with car issues since the summer of 2010, really.  We’ve lived with only one vehicle for periods of time, bought lots and lots of new tires, replaced brake parts, purchased a transmission, and had to put in a new body module while either one or the other of our cars took turns breaking down … That’s just life and some of it is routine maintenance – but a lot of it is results of having older vehicles and not having any mechanically-inclined people in our immediate family … and well, a then-2-year-old who destroys vehicles:-/

I had this weird feeling about my little Saturn Vue today as I set out for Lowe’s (a story in and of itself – any time I head to the home improvement store, a tragedy usually follows soon thereafter) … The key seemed to stick just a little in the ignition.  After doing what I needed to do at Lowe’s, the key again just seemed to stick … weird but completely ignorable.  We stopped at a convenience store that offers 50 cent fountain drinks when our beloved St. Louis Cardinals score 6 points or more – and the Cardinals didn’t let us down yesterday.  So we stopped to get everyone a drink.  When we got back to the car with our 4 cups, the key would not go into the ignition AT ALL.  Something seemed to be blocking the key hole.

I tried, Drew tried, I prayed.  Nothing.  The key just would not go into the ignition, and the steering wheel locked that I couldn’t even jiggle it either.  I began to go through my options, starting with calling roadside assistance.

Meanwhile, a man from our church walked by with his 3 kids – no doubt lured in by the 50 cent drink offer!  When he came out of the store, we flagged him down, and he tried the key.  He couldn’t get it in either.  He even called his dad to see if he had any advice – but the only thing we were finding was that in situations like this, the entire lock, tumbler, and pins system probably needs to be replaced.  The tow truck driver tried too, and that was also his conclusion.

Thankfully, our friend from church lived close by.  He went to get his wife, and they brought me their 2nd car so that I could at least drive myself home.  Since it was a church night, I later went to church, and afterwards his wife drive me back home.  The Saturn meanwhile was towed back to the dealership/service center where it spent at least 3 weeks this past summer.

And so, with my husband in Arkansas, I sit at home with no car … but the good news is that Enterprise will pick you up!  And that’s what they are doing tomorrow as I’ve rented a car for the weekend.  We have appointments, and we were planning on going to Arkansas.  If the dealership that is working on my Saturn keeps it as long as they did last time, I’m definitely going to be asking them for a FREE loan vehicle next week!

Not sure what will come of my little Saturn … or how much it will entail to get it back to me.  I know I shouldn’t WORRY about it (worry is a sin, and all that) … but I will admit I am just a wee bit a lot anxious.  I don’t want to be discouraged, I don’t want to dismay … I just want to trust that God knows what just happened to me today and He’ll work it out as He always does.  However, I am just being honest – I think my blood pressure went up a few points again today.

cordelia-sig.png

This entry was posted in provision, Random Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Oh Goody, Another Day!

  1. Sandra says:

    Goodness, I’m so sorry about your car troubles, but glad you’re able to get another so you can do your errands etc.

  2. Amy says:

    Just wanted to send you a hug! This, too, shall pass. And God goes before you through it all.
    Love you!

  3. Tanya says:

    (You edited! ) I completely understand the exhaustion, and I know the Lord does, too. Remember He was completely human — the garden of Gethsemane shows us His humanness. Hang on to Him! I am praying for you, my friend. I had one of those days on Tuesday, though I ended up with an oven that won’t work (much cheaper to repair, I know). It is sooooo hard for me not to wallow in self-pity and point out to God all the ways I am “suffering.” So then He reminds me about all the people who live in much worse situations than I. I usually need to get in the Word and pray to get out of that mood. Love you! Wish I could give you a hug in person!!

  4. melanie says:

    Hmmmm… (we looked at a 1994 Buick last night..as in, to purchase — are we crazy?)

    God knows.
    Praying for you ❤

  5. Sara Heer says:

    Hmm, maybe you should all move to a city with public transportation. 😉 I’m so sorry you have yet another care problem. Will pray that it is fixed soon and is not too terribly expensive. 😦

Comments are closed.