HodgePodge – 4/10/2013

Hodgepodgebutton

It’s been a while since I hodge-podged (can that legally be used as a verb?!) with Joyce and friends … glad to be back today:

1. Share one fun thing you did last week, while the Hodgepodge was on ‘spring break’.

We spent a few days in Northwest Arkansas where my hubby’s new job is – the weather was beautiful and we spent some time at Terra Studio Art Park near Fayetteville.  This is the home of the original “bluebird of happiness” … and yes, my husband bought me one!

20130406_142037

2.  April 10th is National Sibling Day…do you have siblings, and if so are you close? Share a favorite story featuring one or all of your siblings. If you don’t have siblings, did you ever wish you did?

I have a complicated family … I have 4 step-brothers and 1 step-sister and 2 half-brothers.  So technically, I can consider myself an only child 😉  My step-dad adopted me shortly after he married my mother, so I really never felt any of my siblings were “steps” … I just use the term to make things understandable.  I am probably closest to my “little” brother who is 6 1/2 years younger than me – but sadly, I don’t see any of my siblings very often.  I get most interaction with them via facebook!

I have many stories and memories of growing up with the above-mentioned brother (he and I grew up in the same household while the others lived with their mothers or were old enough to be on their own when I was a child) … As kids, I often told my little brother that he wasn’t normal and that he just wasn’t like most children and that he was probably adopted.  Just recently he confessed to me that this always really bothered him (I had no idea!), and he actually believed me for a long time.

3. Is it important to you to ‘buy American’? Why or why not? How much of an effort do you make to ‘buy American’? If you’re not American, insert your own country in the blank.

I do look at the “made in” labels sometimes … but I’ll admit, I just buy what I need, not really giving it much thought.  The one thing I am looking forward to when we move to Northwest Arkansas is there is a weekly farmer’s market -and I look forward to supporting the local vendors there!

4. Besides The Bible, what book has impacted your spirituality in some way?

Wow, I’ve read so many books and devotionals … One of the most recent books I read that made my life make so much sense is Introverts in the Church by Adam McHugh.

5. April showers bring May flowers or so the saying goes.  Do you find rainy days calming or depressing?  When were you last caught in a rainstorm? What’s blooming in your neck of the woods today?

I don’t mind a rainy day if I don’t have to get out too much.  I remember recently getting caught at our Walmart during a rainstorm.  While most of the patrons were huddling around the front doors, waiting for a break in the rain, I just grabbed my bags and made a run for it – I’m not afraid to get wet (if I don’t have anywhere to be afterward!).

The dogwood trees are finally blooming here!!  They are among my favorite – and remind me of growing up in East Tennessee and its Dogwood Trails.
6. What’s your favorite yellow food?

yellow M&Ms … yellow Skittles … yellow jelly beans.

7. April is National Poetry Month…what’s a poem that holds special meaning for you, and why is it special?

Speaking of happy little bluebirds reminded me of a poet who fascinates me:  Emily Dickinson –

a66df3dafa2fd86a39a2c15e502c613e

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

My thought is I am just very tired.

cordelia-sig_thumb.png

This entry was posted in Hodge Podge. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to HodgePodge – 4/10/2013

  1. Joyce says:

    Totally legal to use HP as a verb : ) Those little bluebirds are so pretty!

  2. Nani says:

    I love your yellow food! I agree; they are great! So is Bit-O-Honey now that think of the color. 🙂

    I used to not care about getting wet so much, I preferred to have an umbrella to keep my glasses from getting rain drops all over them. Now when I’m out I;m in a wheelchair, I hadn’t thought about how much more of yourself is flat and exposed to the rain in a chair until it was me. With no hand for an umbrella to protect my glasses and all, I’ve become a bit of a rain wimp.

    Farmers Markets are great; no labels and better food!

  3. Teri says:

    Emily Dickinson is probably my favorite poet. She can evoke so much with so few words…

  4. melanie says:

    Ha – Your sibling story reminds me of my older sister (by 6.5 years also), who told me I was adopted … and that I just rented my half of the bed, etc… and then locked me into our little walk-in closet… all in good fun of course. 😎

  5. Tanya says:

    I really think those bluebirds are beautiful. Made of glass, I assume??
    No yellow foods for you? My new favorite yellow food is corn pudding. Yummy!

  6. Hootin' Anni says:

    …and I bet that bluebird gift is sitting mighty pretty somewhere in your home!!!

    Emily Dickinson…great choice.

    BAD ‘Hair’ DAY

  7. Judy says:

    Wonderful poem! Great answers!

  8. Kara says:

    Love that Emily Dickenson poem! 🙂

Comments are closed.