Hodge Podge – 4/17/2013

Hodgepodgebutton

It is WEDNESDAY again … that means another work week is HALF OVER!!  and it means Hodgepodge with Joyce and friends:

1. April 15th is the deadline for Americans to file their state and federal income tax returns. What’s a job you do on a regular basis that could be described as ‘taxing’?

EDIT:  I read this as what JOB (as in employment) not what JOB (as in a task) so my answer doesn’t really meet the question correctly – but I’m leaving it as is:

A school secretary for 7 years??!  Actually, the MOST taxing job I ever had was the month or so I worked at McDonalds (with my friend and roomie TANYA – hi, Tanya!!) my Junior (?) year of college.  I had to do it to pay off my school bill so I could take finals … but while there was some fun in the job (eating left-over apple pies at the end of the day!) and some nice people to work with (I even went out once or twice with one of the managers who was studying to be a youth pastor), I stressed out a lot when the lines got long – especially drive-thru – I had nightmares about drive-thru.

2. I’m participating in the April A-Z blog challenge, and the Hodgepodge happens to fall on Day O this week. In keeping with that theme…olives, onions, oysters, okra…of the foods mentioned, what’s your favorite O food?

Well, none of the above mentioned foods … but I sure do like OREOS (have you tried the MEGA STUFFED!!!???  Women in their 40s should NOT eat those and enjoy them like I do, but unfortunately, even in my maturing age, I still find comfort in that creamy middle – which makes my own middle pretty – well – mushy).

3. What is something memorable you experienced as a child that your own children (or future children/nieces/nephews) will not get to experience?

The security of playing outside until the street lights come on, just roaming the neighborhood or woods or riding a bike to the nearest convenience store … While my kids DO play outside, I prefer them to stay VERY close to home.

4. Term limits for our elected officials…your thoughts?

Yes, please … although I will admit, that isn’t something I give too much thought to.

5. On April 18th, 1775, Paul Revere made his famous ‘midnight ride’…when did you last make a midnight ride? Perhaps the fate of a nation wasn’t hanging in the balance, but tell us where you were headed anyway.

A month or so ago, when the kids and I visited Daniel in Arkansas for the weekend, we knew we needed to be home by Monday, but the kids wanted to stay for youth group at the church we’ve been visiting (at it meets at 6 p.m. on Sundays).  SO the kids and I didn’t leave until afterwards for the 225 mile ride back to Missouri.  We got home pretty close to midnight.

Last weekend, my husband was supposed to come home on Saturday – but instead, he left right after his shift ended at the hospital at 10:30 p.m. on Friday – and he definitely had a midnight ride … and I was so glad he did that!!  🙂

6. What would freak you out more…a mouse running across your floor or a big fat hairy spider?

Well, let me put it this way:  a while back, we had an exterminator come inspect for termites … and the way he put it was like this:  “The good news is you don’t have termites; the bad news is you sure do have a lot of spiders.”  Spiders crawl into my laundry room, which is attached to my garage, often, and I have actually gotten somewhat used to it.  I still don’t like to unexpectedly see one crawl across my way – but I don’t scream as loudly as I used to.  I’m thinking that a MOUSE running across the floor would be way worse!!

7. I love it when people ask me________________________?

…is that your daughter or your granddaughter??  (referring to my 3 year old).  Actually, that has only happened once, but obviously it stuck with me!

Otherwise, I do love it when people ask me if I’m REALLY in my 40’s (which probably has more to do with my immaturity – see above mentioned mega-Oreo-cookie eating – than my looks!  LOL).

8. Insert your own random thought here.

After recently being unemployed for several months, my husband got a job in an organization he really wanted to work for … Unfortunately, that meant settling for a late shift job (2-10:30 p.m.) for now.  After just not quite 3 months on the job, he was offered a DAY SHIFT position yesterday (same job, just “normal” hours – 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.) … now if only they’d offer him a raise that quickly – ha.  🙂  This will suit our family so much better once we get moved to Arkansas to be with him again this summer.

PRAISE THE LORD for His favor!!

cordelia-sig_thumb.png

This entry was posted in Hodge Podge. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hodge Podge – 4/17/2013

  1. Tanya says:

    Once again, you are cracking me up, my kindred-spirit friend!!! Oreos………baahaahaaa!!! Me, too. I was just telling the kids about the owners of that McDonald’s that wouldn’t let customers have more than one sauce for a 6 pack of nuggets. NO wonder it went out of business. I agree……..fun times, definitely some interesting memories, but never EVER would I want to work that job again (or even let one of the kids work there — do you remember how they would get stressed and start yelling at all of us workers??!).

  2. melanie says:

    Praise the Lord for the shift change! I’m sure your early bird hubby is so happy 🙂

    Chuckling over your Oreos and their consequences… ;D but I’d choose them over the other options too!

  3. Nani says:

    You look younger than me and I get accused of being in my 30s…or younger. The younder than that ticks me off. I’m a few years away from 50, if they’re gonna lie to be nice, at least don’t shave more than 5 years off what they really think! it’s an insult. I’m not an Oreo fan; I used to scrape off the white stuff and just eat the chocolate cookies as a kid, but give me cotton candy at the ball park and that’s where my inner child thrives. (Still don’t think I look like I’m in my 30s, just an immature 40-something. lol)

    Your husband’s job and shift change is wonderful news! It’s gonna be a great summer when you’re all together!

  4. Amy says:

    Hooray for the job moving to “regular” hours…SO much better for family life! Congratulations, to Daniel, who must be doing a superb job.
    On a side note, I was actually eating an Oreo (though only double stuff) not five minutes before I read this! We really do have lots in common. I will have to look for the Mega-stuffed ones…or maybe I should just pretend I still don’t know about them…..

  5. Joyce says:

    I’m so glad for the good job news…summer is just around the corner! I think Oreos are good no matter your age. My daughter and I were laughing because she told me her health concious roommate bought fat free regular Oreos. We could not see the point!

Comments are closed.