Happy Homemaker – 5/28/2013

HHM2013_thumb.jpg

A fun highlight of my blogging week is joining Sandra for HHM … I love having this record of what is going on in our family:

THE WEATHER:::

rainy and stormy right now … hearing thunder “roll”.  It is supposed to get up to 86 degrees today though and be sunny for several days.

RIGHT NOW I AM:::

Up waaaaay too early.  I couldn’t sleep, so at 5:30 a.m., I got up and caulked my bathroom sink since it can now dry without someone messing it up!

THINKING:::

MY HOUSE IS CLEAN!!!  MY HOUSE IS ORGANIZED!!  It is the first time in forever that I have felt this way!!!  I am so thrilled at the progress we have made:  it has been slow but it has been steady.  We list our house for sale on June 1st – and I’m thinking I am ready (dare I say this??!).  It has been an eternal process, seemingly, and there are still a few tasks to take care of – but overall, it. is. time.

Also, my cousin and her friend are coming to visit us for a few days from GERMANY today!!!  So excited to see her!  🙂

ON MY READING PILE:::

A Rita Mae Brown mystery.  Not my favorite but something I picked up at Goodwill for mindless reading.  In the Bible, I’m finishing up Matthew.

ON MY TV:::

Not much at all – no time, no interest.

ON THE MENU:::

Time to start cleaning out the pantry and fridge – and get creative!

ON MY TO-DO LIST:::

*  finish raking away the last of the leaves in our backyard when it quits raining and dries out.

*  wash all the windows, inside and out.

*  start packing our videos (yes, VHS) – and sorting out what we don’t want so they can eventually get down to our storage unit in Arkansas.  I’ve already gone thru the DVDs.

HOMEMAKING TIPS:::

I read that straight Borax is a great tub floor cleaner.   Will be trying it out!   Meanwhile, I need to find something that will power through the lime deposits that have hardened on some of my sinks (bathroom upstairs) and dishwasher coils.  I have tried CLR (for calcium, lime, rust) but it is not powerful enough.  Someone suggested vinegar, which is my next course of action; also, scraping the lime scale off carefully with a razor blade.

Oh, and a tip for leaf removal from my handyman:  we have a TON of leaves in our backyard as we have a lot of trees.  He let us borrow his HUGE tarp onto which we rake the leaves and then we drag/carry the tarp down to dump the leaves in the woods behind our house.

LOOKING AROUND MY HOUSE:::

WOW!  It is amazing how far we have come:  we have new carpet, new garage doors (that work!!!), a beautifully painted and fixed up porch …

The painter/handyman still need to finish painting the deck in back (rain, rain, go away).  Also I am having them install a new hood over my stove – this is the LAST item in my kitchen that is still 1988 almond-yellow as opposed to all my other appliances which are white; unfortunately, it involves taking our kitchen up to “code” and installing an outlet in that cabinet area above the stove (hopefully, the next homeowners will appreciate that!).  Also, they are going to do some tree/branch trimming and sapling removal for us.

FROM THE CAMERA:::

I need to take some pictures of our house while it is looking this good!!  🙂   The realtor is doing that on Saturday too as that is the day we list our house for sale.

ON MY PRAYER LIST:::

friends who continue to go through cancer treatment and face surgery

friends who are going through a “rough time” or are healing from a period of trials

our transition to Arkansas, that our house will sell in God’s perfect timing

DEVOTIONAL THOUGHT:::

Be encouraged:  a short blog post I just wrote this morning.

cordelia-sig_thumb.png

This entry was posted in Happy Homemaker. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Homemaker – 5/28/2013

  1. melanie says:

    “Ready”?! YaY! for you!!!
    Enjoy your guests and your lovely home {for now}!

    Crazy week gets crazier… someday I’ll try to post about it 😉 For now I’m off to the dentist for a minor ’emergency’ fix.

  2. Tanya says:

    It will be fun to live in the “new” house for awhile, won’t it?? ;o) So glad for you that you are almost ready. We will be praying for a buyer!!!

Comments are closed.