Happy Homemaker Monday–8/5/2013

I find joining Sandra for HHM a wonderful way to document the things that are going on in our lives right now!  Even if no one else reads these posts or finds them interesting, I sure love coming back to see what we were doing.

That said – here goes – better late than never!!

6617550523_f23efa4053

THE WEATHER:::

It has been lovely here lately – in the 70s when I get up – nice enough to shut off the a/c and open the windows (the cat is loving that!!).  It does get humid during the day, so we close up and try to stay indoors!

RIGHT NOW I AM:::

Winding down from another day that just flew by!  Daniel is in bed – the big kids are playing computer games, and MiMi is watching them.

THINKING:::

I can’t believe we have LIVED in NW Arkansas for over a week now!!  Today I hung pictures and art and put out some candles and familiar decorations around the house … it is starting to really feel like HOME.

ON MY READING PILE:::

OH!!  I took the kids to the public library today – and wow, it is HUGE (compared to our tiny town library back in Middle-of-No-Where, Missouri) … computers everywhere, games and puzzles all around, little nooks and cozy couches for reading, and glorious organization and marvelous variety!!!   I got the book The Crossroads by the author of The Shack (William P Young) to begin with.  Also the latest mystery/suspense by Elizabeth George (not the Christian author Elizabeth George), a series featuring Scotland Yard Inspector Lynley.  I will be looking for book recommendations soon (Melanie)!!

ON MY TV:::

these days, not much.  My husband is sure happy that our local cable company has a “Cardinals” channel so it is baseball every night for him!!  I’m just staying too busy to care much about TV right now.  I have found a radio station from American Family Radio – good to hear news from a Christian perspective and lots of good preachers and speakers throughout the day, mixed with some Christian music.

ON THE MENU:::

I am trying to cook more since our budget is super tight right now!!  And with Daniel with us again, it is so much fun again.  Tonight we had meatloaf and home fries with cucumbers from someone’s garden!  I haven’t really gotten the menu planned, but I do try to think out each morning what to make for that evening so I am ready.

ON MY TO-DO LIST:::

I need to organize my desk stuff.  Our desk doesn’t fit into our house here so it is in the garage – not somewhere I want to sit and work right now … so I need some kind of portable work station to pay bills and such.

HOMEMAKING TIPS:::

I am sure this isn’t earth-shattering news – but with a smaller home with no linen closets, my solution for bedding storage has been under-the-bed boxes.  I have one under each bed (actually 2 under mine) to keep everyone’s sheet sets and extra comforter/blankets in.  I also have stored swimming towels there.  As for towels, in my bathroom, I have rolled them up and am keeping them in a basket.  The kids got one of those over-the-toilet shelving units, and one shelf has their towels.

One thing I am emphasizing to my kids is that with this tight of a space, staying organized is the key.  Our closets are packed literally like a tetris game – and once something is removed, it must be put right back into its place as soon as it is used.  Just a little clutter in a little space like this will look much worse than it did when we had more room.

LOOKING AROUND MY HOUSE:::

I am happy with how things have fit … I am happy with the simplification we were able to do.  I have no china cabinet/hutch, no desk, and we’ve stored a big dresser we used to use.  There are only a few book cases (one in each of the bedrooms) … but we have everything we NEED.  Many of our decorations and pictures for the walls are boxed up right now – but I have our favorites out for us to enjoy.  And it is enough.

FROM THE CAMERA:::

from the library today

20130805_151040

 

20130805_151116

ON MY PRAYER LIST:::

that our house will sell before the next mortgage payment is due!!!  This is such a burden on us right now … I know God has a reason why no one is interested in the house – and maybe we need to change realtors?!  But He can also send just the right people to make an offer in His time despite the market, despite my realtor.

Daniel’s car has been in the shop since last week … and they can’t figure out what is wrong with it!!  Some kind of sensor seems to be going out which causes the car to die while in drive … thankfully, it starts again right away, but that isn’t something you want happening to you all the time!  Sad smile  Right now sharing 1 car is easy since I am home anyway… but I know once school starts, it won’t be so great.

Several folks I know or know of have lost loved ones:  last week a young couple (youth leaders) and their unborn baby (along with another lady) died in a church van wreck on the way home from a Christian camp where a friend of mine works.  The couple’s toddler son survived.  Another friend lost her baby nephew this past week – the second child of her sister-in-law to die of the very same congenital disease (they have 3 other children, very close in age); I can’t imagine how hard that would be.

DEVOTIONAL THOUGHT:::

“The child asks of the Father whom he knows. Thus, the essence of Christian prayer is not general adoration, but definite, concrete petition. The right way to approach God is to stretch out our hands and ask of One who we know has the heart of a Father.”
Dietrich Bonhoeffer, The Cost of Discipleship

cordelia sig

This entry was posted in Happy Homemaker. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy Homemaker Monday–8/5/2013

  1. Rebekah says:

    That bus accident is just heartbreaking. Happy to see you guys are getting settled in and enjoying your new surroundings. You should check out our church radio station, it’s 24/7 Christian music with a few “Unshackled” stories throughout the day. Click on the website, and the radio link is on the bottom right. We leave it up on our computer throughout the day. 🙂 http://www.yokotabaptist.org/

  2. Tanya says:

    I saw that about the bus accident. The parents of the young couple maintained such a testimony to the Lord.

    Completely feeling your pain of putting things away or the whole place becomes trashed!!! YIKES! It is very, VERY hard to keep our place cleaned up. There is nowhere to place things (even the mail). But simplicity does have its advantages. Enjoy each other! We will continue to pray for the sale of your house. ;o)

  3. melanie says:

    How fun to see you with a ‘regular’ life post! 🙂
    The bus accident is such a heartache. The other adult killed was mom of five I believe. 😦

Comments are closed.