Happy Homemaker–8/12/13

6617550523_f23efa4053

Joining Sandra for an update on LIFE at our house:

THE WEATHER:::

75 and raining … there are flash flood warnings for our area and continued rain in the forecast. 

Speaking of flooding, the area in Mid-South Missouri we just moved from has been devastated by flooding last week … millions of dollars of damage to homes and businesses.  A mother and her toddler son perished in a flash flood that swept them from their vehicle.   Sad smile

RIGHT NOW I AM:::

Enjoying the QUIET … MiMi is actually taking a NAP.  She hasn’t taken a nap at a normal “nap time” in probably years!!  Yesterday evening she spent 2 1/2 hours with her 3 year old class at church (the one we are visiting) – to include playground time … and she fell asleep at 8:30 pm (as we left church) and slept through the night!  I am glad though because we are trying to adjust from our night-owl lives to “back-to-school” schedules for Thursday when school starts at 8 a.m.! 

THINKING:::

About blessings … Right now ours are not financial or material by any means … especially as long  as our house remains on the market in Missouri. 

OUR BLESSINGS however are far greater than financial provision for bills and our needs.  Our blessing is His strength in our weakness.  His provision in our need.   His wisdom in our unknown.   His love in our lives.  

ON MY READING PILE:::

In my Bible, I am in Luke … just finished chapter 2 – JESUS is born!! 

I am also continuing my mindless reading:  Elizabeth George Believing the Lie. 

ON MY TV:::

still nothing …

ON THE MENU:::

Parmesan-crusted tilapia tonight – with cole slaw and rice

ON MY TO-DO LIST:::

thankfully it is short right now.  Smile  That hasn’t happened in a long, long time!! 

HOMEMAKING TIPS:::

My mom was just sharing with me that putting a few teaspoons of SALT (plain, old table salt) in your whites when washing them really helps to brighten them up.  I haven’t tried it yet, but I will! 

LOOKING AROUND MY HOUSE:::

things are actually pretty orderly … It won’t last – but I am enjoying it.  Smile 

FROM THE CAMERA:::

MiMi has gotten quite proficient at her computer skills. 

20130806_110014

ON MY PRAYER LIST:::

Our house to sell.

The administrator of our new school’s son has brain cancer (or a tumor?) that has already taken his eye (he wears a patch) and now is affecting his memory.  This young man is about 20 years old and is no longer able to drive, use a credit card, or do a lot of the things a young adult would like to do.   It is a very sad situation. 

DEVOTIONAL THOUGHT:::

Lyrics by Keith Green “Make My Life a Prayer”

Make my life a prayer to you –
I want to do what you want me to:
No empty words and no white lies,
No token prayers, no compromise.

I want to shine the light you gave
Thru your son you sent to save us
From ourselves and our despair;
It comforts me to know you’re really there.

Chorus
Well, I want to thank you now
For being patient with me.
Oh, it’s so hard to see
When my eyes are on me.
I guess I’ll have to trust
And just believe what you say
Oh, you’re coming again
Coming to take me away.

I want to die and let you give
Your life to me so I might live,
And share the hope you gave me –
The love that set me free.

cordelia sig

This entry was posted in Happy Homemaker. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Homemaker–8/12/13

  1. diarysahm says:

    That is just horrible about the flash flood and the victims. I wish my kids would take naps NOW even at this age, sometimes it’s just needed LOL

    I’ll have to try the salt tip in my wash, will let you know how it works 🙂

  2. melanie says:

    Very sad with you about the flood victims as well as the young man with cancer.
    Very glad with you about napping Mimi and the mess-less house! I enjoyed your post with pics of the new place too. Maybe you should hire out — and come help me organize and downsize our s.t.u.f.f.?! 😀

Comments are closed.