Happy Homemaker Monday–8/19/13

6617550523_f23efa4053

It is time again to catch up on life events with Sandra and friends:

THE WEATHER:::

what a unusually mild August we are having here:  it is 61 degrees right now – high of 85 predicted for today (loving this!!).

RIGHT NOW I AM:::

enjoying a second cup of coffee and listening to Miriam recap our trip to the zoo last week (she studies the map of the zoo and tells about each animal that she saw OVER AND OVER again … we definitely need to get back to a zoo soon!!)

THINKING:::

I need to get used to city driving.  While it isn’t THAT bad here, compared to really big cities, this morning public school started, which added to the traffic significantly!   There is a school at the edge of our neighborhood which we navigate through pretty well … but today Daniel forgot his badge for work – and I had to get it to him after I dropped the big kids off at their school – and hit another school zone that had traffic creeping for probably a mile.  I took what I thought was a clever route back home, but it really wasn’t much faster since cars were trying to turn left across traffic at regular increments.  THANKFULLY, I won’t be taking this route every day … and overall, the trip to the kids’ school should normally be about 15-20 minutes, round trip.

ON MY READING PILE:::

Ready to start reading Cross Roads by William P. Young.  I foresee a trip to our HUGE, wonderful library here VERY SOON!!

ON MY TV:::

It is off … We realized we have the TCM (Turner Classic Movies) this weekend – and we enjoyed watching 2 old movies on Friday night – Mildred Pierce (a suspense-type story starring Joan Crawford) and a musical The Student Prince (from 1954).  I tried to stay up to watch another musical, Kesmit (1955) – which stars Howard Keel (of Seven Brides for Seven Brothers fame) but just couldn’t hang …

ON THE MENU:::

I’ve done a good job of cooking at home – most recently chicken and dumplings in the crock pot … so just have to keep this up!  My husband requested Mexican stew (seasoned beef, potatoes, etc) for dinner tonight so he’ll get that with corn muffins, probably.

ON MY TO-DO LIST:::

Annie-Belle can apparently only wear white knee high socks with her school uniform (or tights or panty hose), so I am determined to find some for her.   She has a ga-billion pairs of socks – but can’t wear any of them for school … *sigh*

HOMEMAKING TIPS:::

I sent my son on a camping/canoe trip this weekend with a scout-type group from the church we are visiting – and I packed several water bottles for him.  As an added surprise, I taped individual packets of tea and lemonade mix to each bottle so he could add some flavor (he, like me, struggles with drinking enough water).

LOOKING AROUND MY HOUSE:::

Things are fairly cleaned up after a busy weekend.  There is some paperwork to sort through, as always.  With the morning sun streaming into my living room window, I am seeing that our furniture sure has a lot of DUST, probably still from the move since I haven’t cleaned much since unpacking.

FROM THE CAMERA:::

Photography by MiMi (the map of the zoo she has been fascinated with!)

20130819_092318

ON MY PRAYER LIST:::

I am praying that our house in Missouri will sell (or I will settle for renters, but prefer not to) before the September mortgage payment is due.   This is one of the last things that hangs over our heads to make this transition to NW Arkansas complete.

Our school administrator’s son (23 year old with brain tumor)

DEVOTIONAL THOUGHT:::

Just read this article which is something I have struggled to balance in the last few years:  Do You Have Enough?

cordelia sig

This entry was posted in Happy Homemaker. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy Homemaker Monday–8/19/13

  1. Makes me want to go to the zoo! So cute that she’s reliving the event with the map! Will pray the house SELLS asap.

Comments are closed.