Hodge Podge 9/25/2013

Hodgepodgebutton_thumb.jpg

Joining Joyce for a  weekly favorite thing to do:  HODGEPODGE!

1. What’s one thing that’s still the same about you as when you were young?

probably some of my deepest set insecurities … 😦

and my love for CHOCOLATE!!
2. What’s more important-history or science? Why?

Well, they say that those who don’t learn from history are destined to repeat it … and I really don’t like science … so I’m going with history!!
3. Lima, kidney, string, garbanzo, black or pinto-your favorite bean?

I guess string beans.  I don’t like lima beans; and I don’t care for kidney, garbanzo, black OR pinto beans much … but eat them if I am offered them (or they are in chili).
4. What’s something people come to your town to do?

LOTS OF THINGS!!!  #1 is probably go to college and SEC sports games as the U of Arkansas is here … then there are the arts/cultural events, awesome farmer’s markets, great parks and cafe’s and shops; plus special events like last weekend our town (city) hosted an annual “Bikers, Blues, and BBQ” (the 3rd largest motorcycle rally in the country after Sturgis and Daytona).
5. When was the last time you were in a meeting? Sum it up for us in five words or less.

Well, about one year ago in mid-September, I was in a very fateful meeting that changed the course of our family’s life forever … that’s a cryptic (and perhaps melodramatic) answer, but to this day, I’m still kind of reeling from it all.  To sum it up in 5 words, I will say:  God meant it for good. 
6. What special event would you like a VIP pass to attend?

hmmmmmmmmmmm, perhaps a lecture by one of my favorite authors/speakers such as Eric Mextaxas or Nancy Leigh DeMoss.
7. What’s one piece of advice you’d give a writer?

WRITE WRITE WRITE … don’t worry about offending someone or what others will think, just WRITE WRITE WRITE.  (I need to heed my own advice – I censor myself very much!!)
8.  Insert your own random thought here.

These days I could write an essay on contentment … I am finally finding it again.  The Bible talks a lot about contentment … being content with what you have or in any circumstance … but it is a lot easier to be content when one is not under extreme duress or stress every day.  While there are still many things in our lives here in our new home to “worry” about – money, my husband’s new (third and hopefully FINAL) career, our kids turning out well – there is a calm that GOD HAS BROUGHT US THIS FAR, He can handle all those concerns.  We have lost and given up a lot of things in the last 2 years to include people and relationships … but one of my husband’s favorite sayings is that sometimes you have “addition by subtraction”.  What we have let go are things we haven’t missed … and the people and things who mean the most to us are still there.  Sometimes change is very good.

cordelia-sig_thumb.png

This entry was posted in Hodge Podge. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hodge Podge 9/25/2013

  1. jodaley says:

    I think recognizing that change can be good is a hard lesson to learn. In my life I think God has always used change to teach me things, to bring me more into His presence, so I try to be grateful and not resist. Too much : )

  2. melanie says:

    “addition by subtraction” — hmm, I think I like it 😉

    I see your contentment in every post you write now!

Comments are closed.