A Recipe! Korean Beef

14080663312c7b625f7ab01a704e8076

 

I haven’t shared a new recipe in a long time … mainly because no recipe has caught our attention enough to be worthy of sharing.  I’ve been cooking a lot, really – but mainly the same old stand-bys:  stews, soups, casseroles, and things off old recipe cards.

Last night, I was at a cooking impasse.  I had no idea what to make … I was completely bored with all the usuals … and I had a pound of de-thawed ground beef.  AND I was browsing pinterest when it all came together:  Korean Beef, sticky rice, and egg rolls!

We love bulgogi … and while this recipe isn’t “real” bulgogi, the flavor (in our opinion) are very close … EVERYONE loved this recipe (we all like Korean food) – and even MiMi enjoyed the sticky rice and egg rolls (made separately, from a frozen box mix).  It was so easy that I actually de-thawed a second pound of beef because I knew we’d want more, and it would be a good left-over lunch for Daniel.

Here’s our new favorite:

“Fake” Korean Beef recipe:

(I doubled everything!)

1 lb ground beef

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup soy sauce

1 Tbsp sesame oil

3 cloves garlic, minced

1/4 tsp ground ginger

1/2 – 1 tsp crushed red pepper flakes (to taste)

salt & pepper

rice, cooked

scallions, optional (for garnish)

Brown beef in the sesame oil.  DRAIN (but not too well, don’t rinse).

Add brown sugar, soy sauce, ginger, salt & pepper.  Simmer.

Serve w/ rice and scallions.

YUM!!!!!!!!!!!!  🙂

cordelia-sig_thumb.png

This entry was posted in recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Recipe! Korean Beef

  1. We tried it and it was a BIG HIT!! It’s a keeper for the Martens’ household too. May I share it on my cooking blog and give you credit back to your post? Delicious! Got any more goodies? 🙂

    BTW, I asked a Korean friend at church yesterday about the sesame oil and he said they use the sesame oil to marinate the steak before cooking it. So adding it to the gb was obviously for flavor. He thought making a “fake” dish was funny and asked “Why not cook the real thing?” I said, “Why not cook the fake and make it easy on yourself and get the flavors?” Just two diff. views. 🙂

  2. Thinking about trying this tonight. Wondering why you add the sesame oil to the ground beef. Is it for flavor? The ground beef should have enough fat to cook up on it’s own, but if it’s to get the flavor, then I’ll try it. I’ve never added oil to ground beef. 🙂 I always try a recipe exactly the first time so we’ll see how it goes. Thanks for sharing.

  3. babstig says:

    Going to try it!

    Sent from my iPad

Comments are closed.