31 Days of QUIET–October 2013

31days2013a

For 5 years, the Nester has been hosting a challenge for bloggers to write about one topic for the 31 days of October.  This year is my first time to join in!  My topic is one near and dear to my heart:  QUIET.

This will not just be 31 days of essays about the subject of quiet (although I may have a few of those) … but it is my journey to seek quiet moments, to quiet my troubled heart and noisy mind, to deal with people who are giving the quiet treatment, to trust a God who may sometimes seem quiet … and so much more!

God has given us all unique personalities; mine happens to crave quiet and in fact, NEEDS quiet to function well.  As an introvert in an extroverted world, I have had to learn how to deal with noisy environments and cope outside my comfort zone in times of crisis and chaos.  I am looking forward to sharing some of my journey and resources for those who also seek quiet … and for those those don’t but have to get along with us “quiet types”.  I also have lots of other topics up my sleeve to share on my chosen subject.

To begin, I ask you:  do you consider yourself quiet, maybe an introvert – or are you a people-person and extrovert?  Or a little of both?!  Have you ever taken the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator test – or heard of it??  (By the way, I’m an ISFJ)

There are also lots of neat – and nail-on-the-head – websites and quizzes that will tell you if you are an introvert … or help you understand those of us who are less socially driven.

Do you enjoy quiet, seek quiet … or do you need noise – if just the TV on or music in the background – all the time?  Tell me about YOU!

cordelia-sig_thumb.png

This entry was posted in 31 Days. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 31 Days of QUIET–October 2013

  1. Pingback: Some Thanksgiving (and various other thoughts) | An Ordinary Hausfrau

  2. Pingback: Quiet Day #7 | An Ordinary Hausfrau

  3. Nice idea! I love me some quiet :). I skirt the line between I and E, I am an extraverted introvert.

  4. Pingback: Quiet Day #2 | An Ordinary Hausfrau

  5. Tanya says:

    I didn’t have time to take the test or anything, but I do truly enjoy my quiet time these days. I can’t even stand to turn the radio on in the car when I am alone anymore. It might be that my current crowded life is affecting my need for quiet, too.

  6. Amy says:

    This ISTJ gal truly understands! After a day at work like today, with three meetings, two of them in my office (my personal space…eek!), I am ready for total QUIET for awhile. Once I get my “quiet fix”, I’m happy to be up and busy again.
    Once, at a women’s retreat, there was an icebreaker and everyone was asked to name their favorite time of day. There were lots of early-bird type people who were always so excited to face a new day. It got to be my turn, and I said “my favorite time of day is when I climb into bed at night and pull up the covers!”. This drew exclamations of surprise from most of the rest of the group. This may have been the first time I realized what a world of extroverts I live in!!

Comments are closed.