Quiet Day #3

31days2013a

This month, I am writing about QUIET in a 31 Quiet Days series that I am embarking upon thanks to The Nester.

I am sure this has already been done – over and over again – but today I wanted to explore a little about what the Bible says about QUIET.  For me, there are 2 verses/concepts that comes to mind immediately:

44ba8de75a9d33c1b2411742d350ee6d

In my personal journal many months ago, I wrote myself this reminder in regard to this verse:  “Cease striving!  Let go!  RELAX!!”

We can quiet an anxious heart by reminding ourselves that God is in control.

The other “quiet” idea that comes to mind is God’s “still, small voice” that spoke to Elijah in I Kings 19:11-12.  God’s voice was NOT in the mighty wind or the powerful earthquake; it was not in the fire.  God’s voice was a still, small voice – a gentle whisper.

31d595ba95dc9abbd9e29ccb7a9989c2

I have heard this verse explained in so many ways with so many applications … but my thought tonight is that God doesn’t want to have to shout and compete with the outside influences and voices of the world.  To hear a whisper, we must focus on the Person who is whispering!

My friend who is a kindergarten teacher told me that the day she had the most quiet and concentration in her classroom was the day she had laryngitis!  Those boisterous children had to be quiet themselves to hear her voice and instructions and encouragement.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Proverbs talks a lot about fools who can’t keep quiet, which is also quite a warning to us!!  A few of those verses are:  Proverbs 11:12, 17:28; 18:13; and 29:11.

It makes me think of what Mark Twain said,

It is better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to open one’s mouth and remove all doubt.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The New Testament has many principles for godly living and conduct, some of which include a QUIET spirit and a calm mind.

James 1:19:  Wherefore, my beloved brethren, let every man be swift to hear , slow to speak , slow to wrath …

I Thessalonians 4:11-12:  And that ye study to be quiet , and to do your own business, and to work with your own hands, as we commanded you; That ye may walk honestly toward them that are without, and that ye may have lack of nothing.

And I will leave you with one of my favorite:

e14ba32a1d6bc04da28c44ef95a3615b

cordelia sig

photo credit:  pinterest and the time warp wife

This entry was posted in 31 Days. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quiet Day #3

  1. Pingback: Quiet Day #4 | An Ordinary Hausfrau

Comments are closed.