Quiet Day #21

31days2013a

After a busy weekend with my in-laws here, I really appreciate this Monday at home with my MiMi.  While there are mountains of laundry to be done, I am just glad to be HOME.  It should prove to be a “quiet” day!

For my blog thoughts today, I wanted to share the continuing way that God is QUIETING my troubled heart with His Word through our new pastor:

Last week, the pastor here began a sermon that confirmed the thoughts I’ve had lately about why we serve God … and how.

This week I knew the sermon would be for me again when the pastor started out with this statement:

“So many Christians have to work so hard to drum up an emotional feeling day after day, church service after church service, in order to produce what they think is the joy of the Lord.  They don’t realize that the joy of the Lord begins in a QUIET place of the heart….”

He went on to ask a question:
”What makes us a Christian?”

Some people might think it is the fact that they abstain from certain activities or righteously do other things … but what makes us a Christian is not those outward manifestations but the complete change of our very being!   It begins on the inside:  in our soul and spirit.  Our flesh – which is our outward appearance – then changes accordingly as the Holy Spirit convicts us.  But that is why so many Christians still struggle, because the flesh doesn’t always cooperate with the spirit.  (The spirit is willing; the flesh is weak!  Matthew 26:41)

The reformation of our sinful ways is a natural result of our inner transformation through the renewal of our mind.

And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, so that you may prove what the will of God is, that which is good and acceptable and perfect. Romans 12:2

BEING A CHRISTIAN IS NOT BY REFORMATION BUT BY TRANSFORMATION.  

(quote by our pastor)

cordelia sig

This entry was posted in 31 Days. Bookmark the permalink.