Quiet Day #28 / HHM

hhmfall

31days2013a

After 28 days, I am kind of running out of words/coherent thoughts for my “month of Quiet”, so I am using Sandra’s HHM as a prompt to share my “quiet” day thoughts!

I have missed participating with her anyway – time to get back on the bandwagon!!

As I look outside my window:::

It is cloudy today … 59 degrees, inching its way up to the high of 70 today (supposedly?).

Right now I am:::

Enjoying my Monday.  Believe it or not, it has become one of my favorite days of the week.  I usually don’t have to work in the school cafeteria on Mondays and MiMi doesn’t go to preschool, so we just stay home and regroup after the weekend.  Finally, the TV belongs to ME (not to my World Series/football watching husband) and the computer router is at full strength because I am the only one on-line!  MiMi still has her demands, but I usually let her watch a whole lot more videos/TV than is good for her and let her entertain herself however she wants (within reason!).  We are definitely low-key today!!

Thinking and pondering:::

OH WOW … I can’t even put it all into words.  I continue to hold on to hope and trust God … I constantly adjust my mind when I plunge into negative thinking.  Most of all, I really should stay away from social media right now.  It isn’t healthy for me at this point in my life when I am desperately trying to be content with where I am.  There is SO MUCH to be content about – of course!!  We love where we live now and the school our kids go to and this area in general … but moving sure hasn’t removed all our challenges.  I am not quite sure what God is trying to teach me/us … other than to keep on trusting Him. 

On my bedside table:::

I’m just catching up on a few magazines right now – fall issues of Family Fun, Real Simple, and All You

On my tv tonight:::

nothing much … last night I caught an episode of Cutthroat Kitchen and then Call the Midwives on PBS.

On the menu for this week:::

definitely some kind of beef/cabbage roll tonight as we have a big cabbage waiting to be used up! 

On my to do list:::

I have a few business-type phone calls to make today – yuck!! 

Laundry

Clean the bathrooms

My simple pleasure:::

these days it is just my morning cup of coffee.  I hate when I have to gulp it down in a rush.  Today I get to have a second cup while I peruse the internet/blogs

Lesson learned the past week:::

I need to remember to use my QUIET moments wisely … because every day DOES have a few quiet moments somewhere.  Last week, I used them to dwell on the negative thoughts I was having, especially since I was paying bills and such!  That is sure to put me in a bad mood.  But also, instead of reading my Bible or thinking POSITIVE, godly thoughts during those quiet moments, I perused facebook too much, growing gradually more jealous of the get-away weekends and new vehicles and such that people were sharing about.  While I am happy for them, no doubt well deserved, all … I just kept thinking my family could sure use a break too … and God willing, it will come.  Smile  I just have to tie a knot in my rope and hang on a while longer!

Until then, I want to thank God in the day-to-day rut of living … the bills, the laundry, the food we have to eat, my family, our health … God always provides our needs and throws in some blessings as well. 

Looking around the house:::

Well, MiMi has definitely enjoyed being home!!  Her books and games are cluttering the floor.  Thankfully, she also is a pretty good cleaner-upper! 

From the camera:::

I did my own photo session with the kids this weekend to spare us the cost of going to a photographer as we usually do.  Despite having lost my camera in the move, I think my phone camera and www.picmonkey.com did a pretty good job!

collage 4 pic

On my prayer list:::

Our school administrator’s 23 year old son went to be with Jesus last night, after a 5 year battle with brain cancer.  While it was expected, these things are always harder, I am sure, when they actually happen. 

Bible verse/devotional:::

The LORD is near to the brokenhearted and saves the crushed in spirit.  Ps. 34:18

cordelia sig

This entry was posted in 31 Days, Happy Homemaker. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Quiet Day #28 / HHM

  1. Tanya says:

    Wow! Great photos of great kids. ;o)
    Are you familiar with this song? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XQan9L3yXjc
    One of my reminders that this is NOT my home!!!

  2. ~Carla~ says:

    I can understand how it’s hard to stay positive sometimes, but if we count our blessings, we *always* come out on top!! 🙂 The photos are darling, I did a photo shoot yesterday as well! 🙂 Have a great week!

  3. Sandra says:

    I feel like so many of us are going through challenging times and trying to just stay afloat and make sense of it all. It’s definitely a struggle right now. Wishing you all the best and praying for your beautiful family.

    I love the photos, sooooo cute 🙂

  4. Love the photo shoot, both the collage and the pics in your header. Beautiful!

  5. melanie says:

    Looks like you have your Christmas card photos ready to go ~ well done! Wow, does MiMi look like a BIG girl now!
    Happy Monday, my dear friend!

Comments are closed.