Quiet Day #31

31days2013a

 

I am squeaking in day #31 at the last minute!!  Actually, it is already November 1st as I write this.  WHAT A DAY I had:

My afternoon looked like this: 

1:00 – 2:45 p.m. – grocery shopping at Aldi and local grocery store to pick up best deals from both

3:00 p.m. – pick up big kids from school

4:00 p.m. – drop off Annie-Belle at theater class

4:30 p.m. – pick up Daniel from work (talked with our mechanic today; he may have a solution to his car’s problem and MAYBE next week, I can ditch the chauffeur gig!!)

5:00 p.m. – drop off Drew at basketball practice

5:15 p.m. – pick up Annie-Belle from theater class, 15 minutes late

5:45 p.m. – make a big salad, to share with friends

6:45 p.m. – pick up Drew from basketball  practice

7:00 p.m. – dinner at friends’ house to celebrate their daughter’s 18th birthday and my daughter’s upcoming 13th birthday together … amazing shepherd’s pie in homemade pie crust and a lot of laughing because I get giddy when I am exhausted and facing a little social anxiety and eat too much cake.  Hopefully I didn’t embarrass my husband too much.   Based on the hostess’s laughter, I at least entertained her a lot!! 

THANKFULLY (and yet, not thankful for the cause of it) there is no school tomorrow in memory of our school administrator’s son (who passed away after a 5 year battle with brain cancer, at age 23, on Sunday) … the viewing is tomorrow evening and the funeral is on Saturday.  

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

ANYWAY, enough of that … to conclude my 31 Days of Quiet, I just want to say that I thank everyone who followed my journey, commented, or just read my blog occasionally.  I appreciate this venue to vent … and I’d probably continue to write if NO ONE read what I had to say.  I am thankful for the friends I have who care about me though!!  Smile 

Slowly, slowly, my insecurities and negative thinking patterns are being removed the more I figure out my identity in Christ and the more I let go of negative and false thinking.  My goal for the future is to put my confidence much more in Christ – and a lot less on my failures and doubt!!  Maybe then, you’ll hear a whole lot less about my worries, fears, and inadequacies!!  Feel free to say “amen” to that! 

c8fd054ff32e3caa67bb9163747b61fb

cordelia sig

This entry was posted in 31 Days. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Quiet Day #31

  1. rebecca d says:

    You should know that us bold, out spoken, extraverts feel socially awkward too… It just takes a different form. I have rarely if ever thought someone who visited us or who we visited made a fool of themselves by having fun and being giddy. I highly doubt you friend did either! We are too hard on ourselves!!

  2. Mrs. D says:

    Hello, I have been receiving your blog via email daily. I’ve kept up with your activities but have now taken the time to write ’cause it is way too busy at work right now to take a minute to do that. I call this “job security”. We have no access at home, so the only time I can blog or comment is when I’m on a break at work. I’m blessed to have a job where folks don’t mind you using their computer for such things. I could us my laptop, but that would mean going somewhere for WIFI and to tell you the truth I just want to get home and get stuff done. I am impressed with all you’ve done over the past year and what a blessing to see the hand of God in all of it. He is truely a Wonderful God. Your kiddos are growing so quickly, so are my grandboys. Brandon will be a teenager next year and Norman is starting to talk… well he talked a lot already, but we couldn’t understand him.

    I pray that you will have a wonderful weekend. Glad you have found a good church body to be a part of. I am blessed with wonderful fellowship where we are too.

  3. melanie says:

    What I am seeing here — and rejoicing with you over — are the NEW FRIENDS you have found to celebrate birthdays with!
    Happy Friday — May you and your kiddos have a delightful day together!

Comments are closed.