The Snow Pictures!

1462961_10153594730150074_235240514_n

My facebook feed is bursting with SNOW pictures from my Missouri and Arkansas friends …. Guess the Ozarks are pretty much blanketed in a few inches of snow (over an icy layer here thanks to the sleet/icy rain yesterday!).

I bet we got 3 or 4 or 5 inches of snow since yesterday (it snowed most of the morning too!).

1471915_10153594729995074_1229043322_n

I am so thankful to be HOME safe and warm!!   School was canceled yesterday by 7 a.m. long before the precipitation started … and the last time I was out was at 9 a.m. on Thursday at Walmart (where not a bottle of water was to be found!!) and Aldi (that had plenty of water?!) and Chick-fil-A because a chicken biscuit just seemed like the right thing to do.

My friend in Missouri slid in her van on the icy roads yesterday … and almost ended up in a RIVER!!!!!  Thank the Lord for His protection over her!!

Dan had to drive in to work today … I don’t worry about him too much (just the OTHER drivers!!) – he learned to drive in Iowa with a dad whose snow-driving philosophy was “have at it, son, and good luck!”  You’d think since he was a state trooper, he’d be a little more concerned with driving safety … but I guess not.  *shrug*

I am not too afraid to drive on snow, aside from not having a very good vehicle for it in the past.  Our “new” van has an all-wheel-drive mode and is pretty heavy so we’d get some traction.  But if I had my drothers (and a good stock of chocolate, diet coke, and coffee creamer), I’d just as soon stay home!    ALTHOUGH, I have been known to drive in perilous conditions to meet up with a friend for Mexican food after being cooped up too long, though!  Sadly, I have no such friend here in Arkansas yet … but I’d almost consider driving the 220 miles just for one more lunch meet-up at ol’ El Jimador.   🙂

EVERYTHING is canceled here because of this weather … to include our quick trip to see the in-laws this weekend.  After all the traveling we did last week, I’m really very ok with staying home.  I checked out Season 2 of Larkrise to Candleford this past week and a random DVD of Hart-to-Hart that caught my nostalgic eye from the public library.  I hope for some cozy couch time with a blanket and a good movie!

At least this snow has finally made it FEEL more like Christmas!!  Now maybe I’ll actually do some on-line shopping and figure out what to do about Christmas cards?!!

cordelia-sig_thumb.png

This entry was posted in christmas, Random Thoughts, snow. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Snow Pictures!

  1. Tanya says:

    We are just getting rain………..cold rain! Not my favorite, but oh well. At least we have a warm HOUSE to stay dry in. And, I think I will not be sending Christmas cards this year. Too much going on to try to manage those as well.

  2. melanie says:

    Glad you are all safe and snug together at home! Enjoy your ‘quiet’ weekend!

  3. Sandra says:

    Goodness that’s some snow. We haven’t had much here, had some flurries though the mountains near us are white and filled with snow. Really hoping for a white Christmas.

Comments are closed.