Snow (Ice) Days

20131206_163838

While it has been great fun having an unexpected 5 day weekend, I am ready to get back to “normal” … especially considering I have not done much Christmas shopping – and the packages of the little bit of on-line shopping I have done so far can’t arrive because I haven’t seen hide-nor-hair of our mail carrier.  Granted, our road has been sheer ice, so I have sympathy … but whatever happened to “neither rain or snow, nor sleet, nor dark of night …”?

One never really thinks about living on a road that is on a hill until the snow/ice comes!  It is GREAT for sledding, though.

 

20131206_164217

(View from my front door, up the street ^ … and yes, that IS my “new” to me van sitting there!  Always so happy to see it is still there … that it wasn’t all just a dream!)

 

20131206_164203

(View of our neighborhood from my front door, down the street)

There was no school today, but I was able to drive the van out of the neighborhood (very carefully!).  The main roads are clear, so it was easy going after that. 

The public schools are closed here tomorrow … but so far, no news about closing our kids’ school.  We drove by today and their parking lot is cleared … we can easily make it in UNLESS the weather changes overnight, which is not forecast. 

It has been a fun “break”; I have thoroughly enjoyed being snowed/iced in – and we are refreshed and ready to get busy again (remind me that I said that in about 4 days!!).   Smile

cordelia sig

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Snow (Ice) Days

  1. melanie says:

    Shouldn’t it be warming up (and melting) soon there?? The snow looks so pretty & fun! Glad you were able to get out again today ~ Blessings to you 🙂

  2. Mrs. D says:

    You have a LOT more snow than we do. I’m hoping for more before Christmas when the family is here so we can do a little snowy recreation. Looks like you even have a little sliding hill at the house… yea.
    Hope you all have a wonderful Christmas in you little house.

Comments are closed.