Hodge Podge–1/15/2014

Hodgepodgebutton

It has been TOO LONG since I’ve last joined Joyce for a fun Hodge Podge of questions answered by lots of people in lots of interesting ways … not sure how INTERESTING *I* am – but here is my contribution:

1.  Are you a force to be reckoned with? In what way?

You know … that’s already a toughie.  I’m really not an assertive type person and I avoid confrontation like the plague!!  HOWEVER, if I can get something into writing, I can be a force to be reckoned with!  For example, a few years ago, a dishwasher we had owned for a little over 12 months died on us … which of course meant it was done with its one-year warranty.  However, I emailed the manufacturer (Frigidaire) and told them how disappointed I was in their product and that I had specifically NOT purchased the extended warranty because I had faith in their good name that my appliance would last longer than a year with NO PROBLEM.  The results:  after being asked to provide my receipt (which I had), I was given 75% of my purchase price back to use on ANY dishwasher I wanted (and I ended up buying a Kenmore).

2. What are two things you love about the wintertime? Or, if love feels like too strong a word, what are two things you ‘like’ about winter?

Not a real fan of winter … but I do love a snow day off school with my kids at home and no where to go.  It was a lot more fun when my husband used to work at a school and was off, too … but now he works at a hospital and must slip-slide his way to work no matter how much snow is on the ground.  Otherwise, I can’t think of much else winter is good for … maybe the wearing of a good pair of boots?!

3. Pomegranate, kumquat, persimmon, kiwi, and guava are all fruits said to have health benefits, particularly during the winter months. Do you have a favorite on the list? Are there any on the list you haven’t tried?

I have never had a pomegranate (unless you count the juice), kumquat, persimmon, or guava.  I have had kiwi … and it is ok – I can take it or leave it.  I don’t really seek kiwi out though.

4. I passed a local church yesterday and noticed they had this on their outdoor sign- ‘When all else fails, do the right thing.‘ Your thoughts?

I tend to agree … My husband in particular is a HUGE advocate of doing “the right thing” – it is something that MUST be done, even if it is hard … even if NO ONE cares or notices.

However, in the last few years, he’s loosened up just a little.   For example, when he was formerly a school administrator, our kids NEVER missed school unless they had a raging flu or other such epidemic illness – it just wasn’t RIGHT … but over time, we watched families pull their kids out of school for vacations, “mental health days”, or “just because” all the time … and finally, a few years ago, he let me do that too for our kids – have a day off school “just because” or to go do something fun (I think he’d draw the line at going on vacation during the school year, just to avoid crowds, even if it is cheaper to travel off season!).  And our kids LOVED it!!  This school year, for example, our school did not take a day off for Veteran’s Day – but my husband said, particularly considering he IS a veteran, that our kids didn’t have to go to school.  We sent a note the Friday before Veteran’s Day and excused our kids and enjoyed the day off!

Now that wasn’t a life-altering “do right or die” choice … and in all things moral and ethical, I will say doing right is always right … or as Dr. Bob Jones Sr. said, “You can’t do right doing wrong.”

5. Do you ski? According to one list I’ve seen, the top 5 ski destinations for 2014 are-St. Anton Austria, Whistler Canada, Cortina Italy, Tahoe USA, and Zermatt Switzerland.  Of the five listed, which would you most like to visit? We can make skiing optional if that helps the non-skiers with their answer.

I ski-ed once that I can remember – in Ober Gatlinburg, Tennessee – sometime in high school or college … The one place that would interest me to visit (if not ski!) is Cortina, Italy – the Italian Alps.  I had a German relative that went there every winter and showed me such incredibly beautiful pictures … I’d love to see it in person.

My husband has skiied once in his life too … it was somewhere in Germany on a company ski trip (Army company) … and he fell and tore his ACL … and later during surgery, we found out, also his meniscus!

6.  What’s the last thing you looked for online? (Besides my blog!)

clearance sale items … that I did NOT buy, by the way!!  Smile

7. What saying, slogan, quote, or motto have you seen lately that inspires you for the new year?

b78a22899916ad98d47efab47ac01e44

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

New year … new attitude … this is our first January together as a family in a new city – my husband started a new job here a year ago on January 28 (we moved the rest of the family here the end of July 2013).  After a few months to settle in, get over all the stuff that a major, life changing transition involves, I think we are finally ready to EMBRACE our new situation fully.  Even tonight, at a ballgame for our kids’ school, my daughter was lamenting how she still wasn’t quite sure where and how she fit in as “the new girl” … but as this year progresses, we will probably – hopefully – eventually STOP saying “we just moved here”.  It will slowly start to feel more and more familiar … and hopefully will start to feel like HOME.

cordelia sig

This entry was posted in Hodge Podge. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hodge Podge–1/15/2014

  1. Judy says:

    When my children went to school they could only stay home if they were on their death-beds however I am finding my grandchildren can learn just as much when they aren`t in school.

  2. jodaley says:

    It takes time for a new place to feel like home, more time than I think we expect. I always give myself a full year, longer the older I get : )

  3. Theresa says:

    I think it is great that you kept the kids out of school for Veteran’s Day! Schools sure are coming up with some crazy schedules lately.

  4. Jill says:

    I can really relate to the moving experience as we just moved from Florida to Michigan last November. Still trying to get all those pesky details worked out of living in a new place. I’m looking forward to the time when it feels more “home”.

  5. Best quote! Love it and will borrow it!

    I’d say it was the “right thing” to take Veterans Day off! Here in the D.C. area we’re very patriotic on those remembrance days.

    We’re facing the possibility of being the “new family” while my husband looks for a different job. We’re hoping to stay in northern Virginia, but if the Lord moves us, I know what you mean, it takes a while. Hopefully, by summer the “newness” will be a thing of the past.

Comments are closed.