Daybook–1/27/2014

WinterHeader

 

I usually link up with Sandra on Mondays … but she hasn’t had time to put up her post today … so, to shake things up a little, I’m joining Peggy’s Simple Woman Daybook today.

 

FOR TODAY – 1/27/2014

Outside my window…

kind of gray skies … it is supposed to get colder these next few days – after having 67°F on Sunday!!

I am thinking…

about my family – my husband at work, hoping he’s having a good day; my big kids at school – initial turn in deadline of my son’s BIG science fair project is today (actual Sci Fair is on Feb 14).  We spent most of yesterday running back and forth to Walmart for supplies (twice … ugh … hate forgetting stuff and having to go back!!) and putting it all together on a tri-fold display.  My 13-year-old daughter has a babysitting job tonight!!  Her first REAL time with the parents going out to eat down the street (she was a “mother’s helper” last week to have the kids get used to her and vice versa).  I’m excited – but considering my son earned some money working for his grandpa on Saturday – and now my daughter’s babysitting gig, my kids are earning more $$ than I am right now!!  ha!

I am thankful…

for Mondays … really!!  It is kind of my down-time day.  MiMi – the 4 year old – doesn’t have preschool (she goes on Tues, Wed, and Fri for 3 1/2 hours) – and my husband takes the big kids to school.  That means I sometimes don’t have to leave the house until 3:00 to pick up the school kids, if I don’t want to!!  Monday is kind of my recovery day from the weekend.  Saturday we spent the day with my in-laws, which meant NO COOKING for me – but I still try to pitch in with dishes and have to make sure MiMi doesn’t break anything in their house (ha!).  Sunday is church day, and yesterday was also Sci Project Crunch Day.  Today, I get to decompress from it all (not that it is THAT stressful but for an introvert like me, I sure need some ME TIME pretty badly after this!). 

In the kitchen…

I have devised a great menu planning option – spreadsheets – and I should be inventory-ing what we have on hand so I can plan!  I work in our Christian school’s kitchen a few days a week, and last week they got an overabundance of frozen meats from the food bank that gives our church/school food to distribute.  I came home with a pre-sliced spiral ham, a turkey breast, and some pork steaks!!! 

I am wearing…

a sweater I got from Goodwill recently.  I like it – I think – it is subtly striped but I can’t figure out if it is brown-and-black or gray-and-black!!  LOL  So for today, I’m trying a gray tshirt underneath. 

I am creating…

Science Fair Project displays (ok, that was yesterday – but we did have out scissors, stapler, construction paper, glue, etc)!  I spray painted a Barbie-motorhome ladder to be silver (instead of Barbie aqua-blue) – and we secured that to the display as well (the project is on ladder safety).  Today I ain’t creatin’ nuthin’!  Smile 

I am going…

to make some phone calls … our van’s driver door panel is skewed which means I can’t open the door (it’s always something, isn’t it??!).  I need to find someone to fix it – it affects the power window as well and has knocked it out of track (thankfully, so far, I’ve been able to slide it back).  Also need to make well-child appointments for my 4 year old and 13 year old.  I haven’t done that consistently, but the school requires 4 year old shots, and I would just like my 13 year old to have a “once over”. 

I am wondering…

if my husband will be considered for any of the jobs he has applied for recently.  One was a definite NO – and I prefer it that way – no waiting, no assuming, no guessing – just a flat out answer.  For another position, 2 people who work in the section actually approached him and suggested he apply … so maybe they’d be good references to help him advance a little in the organization he works for.  ??!

I am reading…

A book about Downton Abbey that I won from April’s blog!  It is the story of its 5th Countess, Almina.  Loving the details about life in the late 1800s and early 1900s! 

I am hoping…

my son has a good time at away ballgames tonight and tomorrow night.  We just can’t make it to go with the team – and I hate missing out – but there are HOME GAMES on Friday and Saturday, so we’ll be there, for sure!!  It is an unusually busy basketball week!  

I am looking forward to…

some COMPLETELY quiet time on Wednesday and Friday – if I don’t have to work in the cafeteria or help elsewhere at school – while Little One goes to her K3 class for a few hours. 

I am learning…

a lot about God’s grace.  I am reading Romans chapters 5 and 6 right now.  Good reminders that I am not a slave to my sins … I am free through God’s grace!  It is definitely up to me to make good choices and ask forgiveness for poor ones, but my righteousness before God isn’t up to me.  It is all taken care of by Jesus!! 

Around the house…

just laundry … lots and lots of laundry. 

I am pondering…

the future.  I have definitely learned to try not to get ahead of myself … but I have hopes of moving out of our duplex even this summer when our lease runs out.  While I think we need more space, a yard, and separation from a close neighbor, I know God has a reason that we are currently where we are! 

A favorite quote for today…

from MiMi’s K-3 classroom:

20140124_111919

One of my favorite things…

watching my kids interact with others – whether it is watching MiMi in her little preschool class (I helped last week as the teacher was out), Drew playing basketball, or Annie-Belle playing with the kids at church – it is a blessing to know my kids are having a good time where they are. 

A few plans for the rest of the week:

already mentioned – van to the shop for the door repair … still need license plates for the other vehicle, which means a trip to the DMV (again!). 

just running the kids around to wherever they need to be to. 

A peek into my day…

this was MiMi’s K-3 class last week Friday

20140124_113213

 

20140124_112459

 

20140124_094546

cordelia sig

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daybook–1/27/2014

  1. Rebecca D says:

    I love a quiet day at home… Especially this time of year!
    Okay… Here’s the deal, you can’t mention a sweater color mystery like that and not post a picture so we can all weigh in! Now I will forever wonder brown or gray? 🙂

  2. melanie says:

    Have I told you about our quirky Suburban’s driver’s door controls? Well, they went from quirky to not working at all in early December. One of those “Honey Do” things that Tim hasn’t quite decided what to do about it yet. Meanwhile I park and walk into the bank instead of using drive-through…

    So thankful for God’s all-sufficient grace!

    Enjoy your quiet Monday at home with Mimi 🙂

Comments are closed.