Happy Homemaker–2/10/2014

HHMWINTER (1)

 

After quite a yucky weekend, I am happy to be back to normal today!!   Joining Sandra and friends for HHM. 

THE WEATHER:::

It is 23° right now … and until yesterday, a big winter weather system was predicted for our area by later today … MORE snow, more ice.  However, things have changed and Missouri to our north is getting the snow, but we are predicted to just get a dusting, if anything.  PHEW! 

RIGHT NOW I AM:::

doing laundry.  My usual Monday chore.  I like it because I feel like I’m accomplishing something and yet, I can putter around in between switching out loads.  Smile 

THINKING:::

about my family – Drew was pretty sick since Thursday night.  On Saturday afternoon I finally took him to a walk-in clinic, thinking he had strep throat, and it turned out he had an abscess on one of his tonsils.  He got a shot of powerful antibiotics and by Sunday morning was feeling better already, thankfully!  We had to follow-up with the doctor that afternoon, which meant waiting another hour and a half at the walk-in clinic (sigh), but the news was good.  He is taking a round of oral antibiotics and didn’t need another shot.  She gave a warning that he needs to watch sore throats as these infections can lead to needing a tonsillectomy. 

Meanwhile, Annie-Belle has a cold, and MiMi has a lingering cough.  I have had migraine and headaches since early Friday morning.  Sad smile 

ON MY READING PILE:::

I’ve got some mindless mystery/suspense books on my nightstand right now (bought at Goodwill for 50 cents each).  Nothing spectacular though.

ON MY TV:::

Doc McStuffins (for MiMi)

I did catch Downton Abbey’s new episode last night.   Also, we’ve been watching some Olympic events. 

ON THE MENU:::

I am so busted!!  I have been talking for TWO WEEKS now that I’m going to inventory the food in my freezer and pantry.  Sadly, I still haven’t done it!  I guess one good thing about that is that the inventory has gone way down since I’ve been randomly removing things to cook!!  Smile 

Tonight the menu is chili Frito pie. 

ON MY TO-DO LIST:::

tomorrow – car repair appointment (again, yes, it is true!!!).  I got a new (salvaged) door panel on my driver’s side … but now my electric window is not working at all (kind of hard to order at drive-thrus which helps me avoid the temptation!!).

basketball games tonight (if Drew is feeling up to it) and tomorrow (away game, not sure we’ll go). 

Wednesday is our church/AWANA night

Thursday is Annie-Belle’s theater class

and Friday is VALENTINE’s DAY.  I am determined to make an effort this year….holidays sometimes fall through the cracks of our family’s busyness and my own lack of motivation.  I do try to get a card and some candy – but this year, since we’ll all be HOME (Lord willing!), I want to do a little more than that.  Maybe.  No promises. 

HOMEMAKING TIPS:::

I am blank here today … not much spectacular homemaking going on around here lately! 

LOOKING AROUND MY HOUSE:::

Princess MiMi is building a Little People village by the warmth of the EdenPure heater. 

20140210_110134

FROM THE CAMERA:::

Do you want to build a snowman… (from last week’s snow)

20140203_140911

Also, Drew’s science fair project is DONE … Sci Fair is this Friday.  I’m SO glad this is almost over.  

20140203_142546

ON MY PRAYER LIST:::

several people I know are facing health issues:  friend with liver disease following her chemo treatment, Melanie’s relative Kim continuing her therapy and doing well (but needs to stay motivated and positive about her progress). 

another friend of mine (Kari’s blog) is waiting for the call that the adoption of her daughter in Uganda will be finalized soon (it is such a long process).  She and her husband were recently there to meet with a judge, but right now things are stuck in the court system. 

my husband had a job interview last Tuesday; it went well – and the next day the interviewer called back and asked for him to send her some references.  We’re hoping this is a good sign?!?!  But we’ve been this close to a job before and NOT gotten it… so we trust GOD and His will. 

DEVOTIONAL THOUGHT:::

still loving this verse (and this graphic!)

93946d7dc62a548d39afb835e7703936

cordelia sig

This entry was posted in Happy Homemaker. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Happy Homemaker–2/10/2014

  1. Rebecca D says:

    I have been avoiding laundry for WEEKS! I haven’t done a load since Jan. 19th… Things are getting a bad… It may have to happen tomorrow! 😉

  2. Sandra says:

    Ouch an abscess on the tonsils has to be so painful, poor guy 😦
    I know all too well about the job hunting and the interviews, you just never know. Wishing your husband good luck with his 🙂

  3. Jen B says:

    I do enjoy doing laundry. It just seems endless. Sickness seems to be hitting everyone hard this year. It’s probably because we have been shut up in our homes and workplaces with no fresh air. We are supposed to hit the mid 30’s this week. It seems like a heatwave. Haha

  4. angie says:

    sounds very familiar doc mcstuffin always a have to watch with grands and laundry is always on the list love your little snowman how super cute

    come see us at http://shopannies.blogspot.com

  5. babstig says:

    Way kind of job?

    Sent from my iPad

  6. melanie says:

    You and your freezer inventory is starting to sound like me and my ironing … except mine is caught up! 🙂 😉 😉
    Yuck for all the headache and sickness crud! Hope you ALL have a better week!

  7. Dawn says:

    Hello! I’m here from Diary Of A Stay At Home Mom. I hope your family feels better soon. We’ve been getting a lot of snow here in PA too and I’m ready for it to end. I also agree with what you said about laundry. I’m in the process of finishing mine, although it never seems to end.

Comments are closed.