Topic Change: A Recipe!

So, I’m done with my “Entertainment Discussion” (hopefully!!) … and in the transition to moving back to less emotionally charged posts from me, I am going to tell you all what we had for dinner tonight!

It was requested as a “make it again” meal.  Yeh!!  Adding it to my menu planner spreadsheet.  Winking smile

First … let me share ONE MORE blog post which is the crux of my conclusion about Christians “judging” other Christians – and Christians self-righteously discussing the self-righteousness of other Christians…

The bottom line is grace, yes … and mercy, true … but I really thinks it starts and stops with LOVE!  God’s love – God’s love through us when we receive His love – and that love extended to others, especially “the brethern”.   Kind of reminds me of my pastor’s sermon a few months ago adapting I Corinthians 13 to say “If I be motivated by love … “ instead of [just] charity/love.   I explained it a little better in my blog post (Oct 13, 2013).

This article is from Kay Arthur’s Precept Ministry:  Love, the Mark of a Believer

A memory of Kay Arthur: 

The ministry that Kay and her husband Jack started in 1970 is headquartered in Chattanooga, TN where I attended Bible college in the late 80s/early 90s (Kay & Jack also attended this Bible college and met there in the mid 1950s).  Kay was venturing out with her Inductive Bible Study concepts while I was at college, and she was slated to give her testimony for chapel at our university.  Just her testimony, folks … she wasn’t going to “preach” or anything.  (By the way, her testimony is an AMAZING story of overcoming some horrific issues in her young life and first marriage, which left her widowed – she is one of many REAL people I have encountered in the Christian spheres – and I’ve heard her speak again since, this time at an all women’s conference).  Anyway, once she stepped up to the podium, several of the “preacher boys” of the school walked out of the chapel auditorium in protest to “having a woman in the pulpit” … A little extreme perhaps – but giving these young, zealous men some grace, I will say, I guess they stood on their own principles – but they missed a very important message and testimony that day!! 

Ok, back to COOKING.  A family favorite around here is Tater Tot casserole – the kind with a cream of mushroom/milk mixture covering ground beef, tater tots, and perhaps green beans. 

This recipe I tried today was a tomato-based Tater Tot Casserole.  

1-2 lbs ground beef, browned with

1 sliced onion

Tater Tots

frozen carrots (green beans, or whatever veggie you like)

1 can tomato soup

Italian seasoning

Preheat oven to 350°F.

Grease a 9×13 pan.  Put down a layer of tater tots.  Salt & pepper to taste.  Put on a layer of the browned meat/onion.  Again s&p, if desired. 

Put a layer of frozen veggies (or even canned green beans).  Cover with Italian seasoning.  Top with tomato soup mixed with 1 can full of water. 

Cover with foil, and bake for 1 hour.

You could top with cheddar cheese (shredded) … and we liked it with KETSCHUP!  Smile

cordelia sig

This entry was posted in recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Topic Change: A Recipe!

  1. Rebecca D says:

    I have never tried “tater tot” casserole, but with how much my family loves tater tots I bet they would like it. What is the other recipe you have for it?

  2. babstig says:

    We love tater tot casserole! Yum!

    Sent from my iPad

  3. melanie says:

    Interesting! I grew up with tator tot casserole, but we put the tators on top of the rest 🙂

    And I finally read your linked Precept post – thank you! 🙂

Comments are closed.