C is for Chattanooga

A2Z-BADGE-000 [2014]

I am blogging from A to Z in April!  My theme is THE WORLD AS I HAVE SEEN AND EXPERIENCED IT.  It isn’t really a travel log … although it involves a wide variety of locations!  You are invited to come along.

In case you missed the first 2 installments, they are linked below:

A is for America

B is for Britain (and Blenheim Palace, Bath, and Burton-on-the-Water)

Today, C is for CHATTANOOGA, Tennessee.

While Chattanooga probably isn’t on the top of most people’s list of MUST SEE destinations, it is worth taking a look at if you are in beautiful East Tennessee!

Chattanooga was my college town.  I transferred here for my Sophomore year and spent my 19th, 20th, and 21st birthdays in Chattanooga.  There are so many memories tied up in this city for me – to include some great, life-long friendships and meeting my husband (with a little help from my roommate and best friend, Tanya!!).

 

conny 1990

If you like Civil War history, there is much to learn in Chattanooga – from the Battle of Lookout Mountain to the nearby Chickamauga Battlefield.

lookout mtn 1991

The views from Point Lookout are amazing – one can see the Tennessee River winding by the city from the pinnacle (you can ride a monorail up the mountain or drive).  My first “date” with my husband was walking and talking along the trails up there.

lookout mtn 1991-2

Chattanooga also has an aquarium (my husband proposed to me in its garden on September 21, 1992!) and an art museum.

220px-Downtown_chattanooga

You can also visit near by Ruby Falls and the famous Chattanooga Choo-Choo (hotel and actual train cars to stay overnight in).  The Choo-Choo, of course, was made famous by the big band song by Glenn Miller in 1941.

We stayed here on the 2nd day of our honeymoon.

choo choo

I wasn’t the biggest fan of college (and couldn’t wait to graduate!) so I escaped Chattanooga as often as possible (my family and friends I grew up with lived in the nearby Knoxville area).  I had such great freedom compared to my high school life (my parents actually were living in Germany during this time – another story for another day!  Basically, they gave me a car and left the country – although I got to visit Germany during this time, too).

I held a variety of interesting jobs in Chattanooga mostly work scholarship or in retail, but it included a stint at McDonald’s, working the drive-thru (thankfully, my friend Tanya shared this misery with me and made it tolerable – that, and the apple pies and other food we got to take home after working a night shift!).

Attending a liberal arts Christian university held many positives for me – I had such a variety of professors, many had a part in forming my Christian world view – and we heard some wonderful, knowledgeable speakers in chapel services.

And of course, the fun with friends – Krispy Kreme (HOT NOW!) donuts, pizza, or Taco Bell late at night, pranks, long talks about life and guys and the future … Not sure I realized then what a carefree time in life that was despite sometimes wondering how to pay the school bill or what to major in (I changed majors twice and barely graduated on time!!).

[I miss you, Tanya – here’s another picture to remember our time together at old Temple U – my graduation day!!  I see Tim and your parents behind us, too!!]:

SCAN0007

My college is no longer at its location – the buildings have been sold, and it has moved to another area of town under totally different leadership and philosophy … but the memories of Chattanooga, they remain dear.  I kind of became a real adult there!  Even though I can’t quite believe that was almost 22 years ago.

(source for some information and picture of city view from Lookout Mtn:  Wikipedia)

cordelia sig

This entry was posted in A-Z, school, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to C is for Chattanooga

  1. Pingback: U is for the Unexpected | An Ordinary Hausfrau

  2. Pingback: K is for Knoxville | An Ordinary Hausfrau

  3. Pingback: D is for Denmark | An Ordinary Hausfrau

  4. rhonda albom says:

    You are correct, Chattanooga is not on my bucket list, I didn’t even know how to spell it. Prior to today I had only heard of the Choo-choo, the rest is all new.

  5. Tanya says:

    Miss you, too, my bosom friend! This post makes me smile because college was so much fun with you as my roommate. Thank you for including me! Did I ever tell you that Tim and I stayed at the Choo-choo one year when Rob was little (and I was pregnant with G)? We were in a trolley car wreck — long story!!

  6. Hello! Love the travel theme mixed with personal experience for the A to Z. Love the name of your blog too. I’ve been to 2 out of 3 of the places you’ve posted about so far. Never Chattanooga, but I’ve been meaning to go on a road trip one of these days. I wanted to head to the west coast, since haven’t been west of the rockies yet. I have seen Memphis, which was only about a five hour drive from St. Louis, where I currently reside. I’ve been to Germany, too. Rostock is one of the coolest towns I’ve ever seen. Peace out.

  7. melanie says:

    Cool beans! {but of course!} 😉

  8. LWSpotts says:

    Love that you highlighted Chattanooga! I moved there in 2004 when I married my husband, but it’s been in the periphery of my family for years, since my grandparents lived in Collegedale. It is all that you highlight and more. I loved my time there, and have missed it a lot during the four years since we moved away.

Comments are closed.