Happy Homemaker Monday–4/21/2014

HHM2013

Today I am taking a break from the A to Z challenge that I’ve been participating in this April to just collect my thoughts and share some glimpses of life around here with you all. 

By the way, if you’re missing my A to Z posts, I’ve been sharing about our travels and stories about my family in various places all over the world (well, mostly America and Europe – but “all over the world” sounded far more dramatic!! ha). 

For anyone who is new, HHM is a weekly meme from Sandra at Diary of a SAHM (a great blog is you love photography, food, family, and sharing your faith).  I try to join as often as I can!

As I look outside my window:::

It is a rainy, gray kind of day … 63°F outside.  But that’s ok because Mondays are generally my “recovery” day after having the family home all weekend. 

Right now I am:::

Having a cup of coffee … listening to MiMi play and talk – she’s got a cold and is sneezy and snotty-nosed.  I’m watching her closely because there was a confirmed case of fifths disease in her classroom on Friday – so hopefully nothing further develops. 

The tissue consumption around here today is amazing because as she says, “My boogers are coming out lots!!” …
Thinking and pondering:::
about the future.  I’ve been scheming about a few things and am even nervous to share them publically for fear they won’t work out, and I’ll have to recant everything. 

One of the things I’m thinking about A LOT is an opportunity that just “happened to” come up the end of last week … and today I have an appointment to look at this:

00j0j_7KkfAVbLdeb_600x450

This little house a few miles from our duplex is for rent for EXACTLY the same price as our rent now!!  I’m too scared to get my hopes up … but this little house also happens to be near this:

00E0E_5XPjeEXsLpg_600x450

a 7 acre city park within walking distance!!!  It SOUNDS perfect … but there are a lot of details to work out first (like our current lease is not up).  AND I haven’t even seen the inside of the house except for pictures (although the description boasts a LARGE kitchen and LARGE living room and lots of storage and a utility room … my question is how much storage and how large?!!).  I drove by the other day … and the neighborhood is cute but kind of crowded, although most homes have privacy fences around them. 

On my bedside table:::

still in Romans in my Bible reading

still working on W is for Wasted by Sue Grafton (either she or I are losing it … I haven’t enjoyed her last 2 books as much as I loved the first ones)
On my tv tonight:::

it is baseball season … so for me, there is NOTHING on TV unless I watch a game with my hubby! 

Listening to:::
Little Einsteins on TV
On the menu for this week:::
good grief, you’d think after all the meals I wrote out on spreadsheets and inventory-ing my pantry and freezer, I’d have it more together!!  And all the help my bloggy friends have sent me too …

I do have left overs from Easter lunch yesterday!  Smile  May make a ham/potato casserole for tonight. 
On my to do list:::
Today – 2 p.m. look at the rental house; tonight in-home Bible study we are doing with a man from our church

Tuesday – big kids go to the dentist in the morning.  MiMi is supposed to bring snacks for her class this week – hopefully she can go to school.  I work in the school kitchen on Tuesdays.

Wednesday – my van needs to go to the shop – the “new” door panel the dealership installed a while back is falling off again and my front, right blinker doesn’t work. 

Thursday – I work in the kitchen; Daniel has a dental appt at 4 p.m.; Annie-Belle has theater class from 4-5 p.m.; we have a dinner to go to at 6 p.m. (for our school staff; we are invited as Daniel is on the school board)

Friday – MiMi has class and I just might be FREE for 3 1/2 hours!!!!!!!!! 
Happening this week:::

see above.

My simple pleasure:::

Today I got to talk to my aunt in Germany.  She is my father’s only sister and is 78 years old.  I love catching up with her, but haven’t done so in a long time as we chose not to have a home phone here.  I just adjusted my cell phone service to make international calls, so now I can call more often!!  She also has her son setting up Skype for her, so maybe we’ll SEE her soon, too. 

Homemaking tips:::

I don’t have anything profound today, but I do have a question:  any tricks for getting ink out of a pair of favorite pants??!  I’ve tried hairspray, rubbing alcohol, stain remover spray, and lye soap.  It is hopeless??!

Looking around the house:::

The house is cleaned up other than a pile of used Kleenex and a few toys in use.  The laundry is in various stacks in the hallway – need to keep on working on that never-ending task.

From the camera:::

my kids on Easter Sunday

20140420_101146

Prayer List:::

our housing situation – and for me to remain calm, no matter what.

friends going thru cancer treatment

MiMi’s cold and the child in her class who has fifths disease

Bible verse, Devotional:::

266979084131993292_aiCfC0jZ_b

blog sig

This entry was posted in Happy Homemaker. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy Homemaker Monday–4/21/2014

  1. A. Catherine Noon says:

    Good for you for honoring your homemaking! It’s the most under-rated hard job out there. Sending prayers to you for the house; I think you’re right about how the universe works with “if this isn’t the right one, then the right one is coming.”

    This is A. Catherine Noon, visiting from the Noon and Wilder blog at http://noonandwilder.blogspot.com for the A-Z Challenge, #1554 on the list. Happy blogging!

  2. Tanya says:

    Anxious to hear about the rental house!!! Salina had 5th disease a month ago. It was no longer contagious by the time we found out she had it.

  3. Amy says:

    About the pants: if rubbing alcohol and an old toothbrush won’t get it, it’s probably hopeless…You really have to let it soak in the alcohol. I once saved a favorite purse like this…but it took about half a bottle of alcohol.
    About baseball season: I feel your pain! 😦
    About the house: sending my prayers. 🙂

  4. melanie says:

    Eeeee! Exciting about the house possibility! By now you’ve seen the inside — And???

Comments are closed.