O is for Orlando

a2z-badge-000-20144

I couldn’t think of any other “O” place that I’ve been to except Orlando, Florida.   And really, Orlando/Tampa/Ft. Lauderdale is nice, but for now, Florida may as well be Outer Gitchigoomi.   I don’t have a lot of information about the area, although I’ve been there twice.  The point of my post is remember the fun we did have in Florida in the past. 

In July of 1978, my dad took all us kids to Florida – and we camped out (with the mosquitos!!) while he and mom and my little brother slept in our camper van.  Good times!! 

SCAN0111

My photo skills and the quality of photo from my little square plastic film camera (with cube flash bulb feature!) have far improved between 1978 ^ and 2000 (below).

SCAN0112

In June of 2000, our little family lived in Virginia (still in the Army), and we took our vacation in Florida, staying in Ft. Lauderdale.  We also went on a short cruise (can’t remember if it was one night or two) to spend a full day in the Bahamas. 

SCAN0113

Drew was 22 months old, and I was 4+ months pregnant with Annie-Belle.  It was a more carefree time for us – and I thoroughly enjoyed that trip!  The memories for me aren’t so much the Orlando-area, but that true sense of VACATION that I associated with being at “the happiest place on earth”, Disney World.  It has been a long, long time since we’ve been there – having that much money to spend, that sense of freedom from responsibility.  

And so, happy memories, but life goes on … Sadly, every day isn’t Disney World – but then again, what profit for eternity would we have if we spent our time just playing.  And so, I have good memories, and no regrets. 

blog sig

This entry was posted in A-Z, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to O is for Orlando

  1. LWSpotts says:

    I lived in Orlando for 25 years. It’s truly a shame that people don’t know about the Orlando that isn’t Disney World, because it is beautiful and filled with cool places. Sadly, such is life for a tourist town.

  2. melanie says:

    OH! 😀
    The One and Only time I visited Disney World was January 1977. And then we drove home through ‘Kentucky’s worst snow storm in ten years’ or something like that. I was young enough not to be stressed, unlike my mother 😉
    I do love the idea of a care-free vacation… Wow, even a quick cruise to the Bahamas! Glad you have such happy memories to enjoy Over and Over!
    But yes, Eternity with Christ will be Far GRANDER, won’t it?! Oh what a day that will be!

Comments are closed.