Girl Time

20140604_141516

 

 

School’s out!!  I am SO ready for summer!!  Although, we already have somewhat of a busy summer planned – but lots of fun things included, too.

Last Thursday, the day before school got out, MiMi and I picked up my mom from the NW Arkansas airport.  She stayed with us for a week.  I just took her back to the airport this morning (*yawn* – 7:05 a.m. flight!).

The last 6 days, we have spent time taking walks, showing my mom our new hometown, and catching up with each other in details one can’t share over the telephone.

20140530_191709

 

Now that I am – ahem – “older”, I think I really do appreciate my mom so much more than I ever did.  First of all, I am thankful to have her; I know many friends who have already lost their mothers and miss them terribly.  I don’t take this time for granted.

And I am seeing more and more where so many of my ideas and mannerisms come from!  While we are very different in some things (which is normal), there are a lot of ideas and memories and personality traits we have in common, too.  She’s known me all my life, after all!

 

20140531_124100

 

We had a picnic at our favorite park … the weather this past week has been in the 80’s.  After such a long winter and seemingly short spring, we sure are glad to see the sunshine!

20140602_125657

 

We took Drew to Missouri to spend some time with his “old friends” and took the opportunity to go to the Dickerson Park Zoo in Springfield, MO.  ^

20140601_124010-1

 

Annie-Belle ended up with a horrid sinus infection and finally had to go to the doctor when all my home remedies weren’t offering her any relief (and we feared strep throat, which thankfully she doesn’t have!).  She had to bow out of some of our shopping trips and park excursions, but MiMi didn’t mind having her Oma all to herself.

 

 

20140604_133832

 

I love my new hometown – it is a city of 70,000+ but when one goes to the “town square”, it feels like small town America.

20140604_141122

For the most part, I am very content here, just taking care of my kids.  Their activities and doing things with our whole family is really what we need and enjoy right now … but this past week, I realized – after spending time with my mom and talking on the phone with an old friend, sharing what God is doing for each other’s families – that I really do need GIRL TIME sometimes – with ADULT girls!

My mom and I went to some of our local Goodwills and thrift stores and Target – and it was fun to try on clothes or suggest things for each other.  My mom spoiled me by buying me nail polish and earrings and by doing my hair (just hi-lights which I haven’t had in FOREVER!!).

20140604_141627

 

I love that I am the mom of 2 girls.  Hopefully, prayerfully, over the years, we will remain close – and still enjoy each other’s company – in 40 years!

blog-sig_thumb.png

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Girl Time

  1. melanie says:

    Lovely parks, lovely ladies! 🙂 Glad you had such a good week with your mom! I hope Anna is feeling better.

  2. Tanya says:

    Great pictures! Your mom still looks so pretty. ;o) Glad you had a good visit!

  3. Ruth says:

    Lovely ladies:) So nice your Mom could come visit. I read your blogs quite regularly since they are emailed to me now, but it has been quite busy at work and I haven’t had any free time because of getting the garden in and such. Heather, my daughter, is coming home to live with her son Brandon. I’m very happy! She will be working in the same place I do also, so I’ll see her every day. I will be able to spend time with Brandon and he will be able to come to church with us. Happy, happy, happy!
    Hope you have a wonderful weekend!

Comments are closed.