V is for Victoria

a2z-badge-000-20144.jpg

FINALLY, another installment of the A to Z Challenge!  It’s only taken me since April 1st to get this far … but I’ve got my last few letters already planned.  It is just a matter of time for me to scan pics and put things together to be able to say I did it:  finished the A to Z Challenge of April 2014!

Today I’d like to take you to Canada – British Columbia to be exact … to the city of Victoria, the capital city of B.C.

While Daniel and I were stationed at Ft. Lewis, Washington, we were able to go to Victoria twice – once in June of 1994 with a group from church and again in May of 1995 with my high school/college best friend and her husband.

Because Victoria is on the southern tip of the island of Vancouver, one can only get there by plane or for us by the Coho Ferry system which travels regularly from Port Angeles, WA to Victoria’s inner harbor (about a 2 hour, 25 mile trip).

Scan0002

As the ferry enters the harbor, the scene that greets you is the Empress hotel.

Scan0004

 

The Fairmont Empress opened in January of 1908.  You can stay in one of its 477 rooms or just tour the lovely building and have High Tea.

Scan0006

 

Both times we were in Victoria, we stayed at the Olde Inn right by a replica of Anne Hathaway’s cottage (Anne Hathaway being the wife of Shakespeare).  One can tour the cottage, and living history interpreters explain many interesting Old English facts along the way.

Scan0008

 

Victoria is known as the City of Gardens.  On each trip to Victoria, we went to the famous show garden founded and maintained by the Buchart Family for over 100 years.

 

Scan0010

 

Buchart Gardens are multi-facted – with fountains, a Japanese garden, and such a wide variety of blooms.  It is absolutely fabulous – and fragrant!

Scan0012

 

Other sites we visited were the Crystal Gardens with its butterfly garden, a place for lemurs and other animals … as well as many tropical plants.

We also visited the Craigdorroch Castle, built in the late 1800s by a wealthy coal baron, Robert Dunsmuir.

My “W” site will take us back to Germany, to a city very, very near and dear to my heart.  To those who know me well, you may already be able to guess which city it is!

blog-sig_thumb.png

 

This entry was posted in A-Z, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to V is for Victoria

  1. Pingback: Hodge Podge – 10/15/2014 | An Ordinary Hausfrau

  2. melanie says:

    Victorious! 🙂
    {Is that a lame response?} You are persevering in this A-Z Challenge!

  3. Tanya says:

    BTW, I shall forevermore remember this trip. It is when I got vertigo — my ears have not been the same since. (But it was worth every minute!)

  4. Tanya says:

    :o) We were just talking about this trip and how young we were!!! Remember only Tim was technically old enough to drive the rental car. Good memories!

  5. Rebekah says:

    Would love to visit Canada one day. Pretty sure I know what “W” will be…but then again, maybe I’ll be surprised. 🙂

Comments are closed.