W is for Wuerzburg

a2z-badge-000-20144.jpg

 

It is no big surprise if you know me that Würzburg, Germany should be my “W” destination for this A to Z Challenge today.

Several of you have also lived in (or near) this beautiful city, so walk with me down Memory Lane!  The US Army shut down its post in Würzburg years ago, so I am extra thankful for God’s timing that we were able to be stationed here from January 1996 to January 1999 before the opportunity was over.

Living in Würzburg was such a neat experience for me because I was most familiar with the Frankfurt area, which is in the German state of Hessen.  Würzburg – though not far from Frankfurt at all and on the same river (Main) that also runs through Frankfurt – is in Northern Bavaria.  The local people speak a dialect called Fränkisch (Franconian), which took me some getting used to!

The below picture is our first walk into the city of Würzburg on a cold day in early January 1996.  We walked down from the post with another officer who had arrived at our guesthouse the same day as us, and we eventually lived in the same apartment building and became very close friends with him and his family!

 

Scan0002 (2)

 

We lived in off-post (called “on the economy”) in a little village named Estenfeld.  Our apartment was the entire top floor of the building below.  It was brand new construction and really very nice (our bathroom & living room tile floors were heated!), and despite having no children, we were given a 3 bedroom place, which came in very handy for all the visitors we had over the next 3 years.  (That’s Daniel standing by our 15 year old “hooptie” Mercedes that we purchased from the “Lemon Lot” for $800 … that car sure could keep up on the Autobahn!!).

Scan0008 (2)

 

Our village was a farming community, and we were surrounded by fields which bloomed in sunflowers or yellow Raps (rapeseed) … and smelled very much like a barnyard when the farmers spread their Jauche (liquefied manure!) over the fields seasonally.

Scan0006 (2)

Würzburg is a “city of churches” with many church spires in its panorama.  It also has a fortress (Marienberg) on the hill across the Main River.

Scan0004 (2)

The Prince-Bishop’s Residenz is also a famous site in Würzburg.

 

432115_10151407437470074_299249985_n

 

In March of 2012, I was able to take my son Drew (who was born in Würzburg’s Army Hospital) to Germany for 10 days.  I think the day we spent in Würzburg was one of my favorite times on the trip!   Below is him at the hospital where he was born; it has now been converted into apartments/condominiums.

 

429652_10151407435320074_423273359_n

 

There is so, so, so much more I could say about our time in Würzburg – how we loved to walk and shop downtown, all the restaurants we tried, and just the little treasures we found in the city and in our little village … but it is now time for me to go run some errands (and look at the rental house!).

MiMi and my inlaws are coming this afternoon.  I can’t wait to get my baby back!!  🙂

blog-sig.png

 

 

This entry was posted in A-Z, Germany. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to W is for Wuerzburg

  1. Nan says:

    Lovely, thank you. I worked at the hospital, lived in kitzingen from 1985 to 1990, there when the wall came down. Aren’t we so very fortunate?

  2. Rebekah says:

    Ahh, thanks for the walk down memory lane. We loved our time in Würzburg (1997-2000). We’re trying so hard to get back to Europe before R retires. I can’t believe the hospital is now housing! What happened to the area where the Post was located?

  3. Tanya says:

    I just love the picture of you on the left of the picture looking out over the town/river. :o)

  4. Amy says:

    SO many great memories here…Rob worked at the hospital from May 1992-May 1994. Marienburg was visible from Emily’s bedroom window, and as it was illuminated, she would look out the window every night before she got into bed to see “her castle”. We lived in housing in the building right next to the officer’s club. I’m glad you understand the language difference…we had been in Germany for two years when we moved to Wuerzburg, and the first time I went to the bakery there and ordered, the man behind the counter stopped short, looked at me, and said (in perfect English)…”WHERE did you learn to speak German?!” When I told him I had lived in Bad Kreuznach for two years, he just said “Oh!”, like that explained everything. I could hear the difference, and I just suspected in was like living in Tennessee versus New York is for us here in America. 🙂

  5. melanie says:

    Wunderbar!!!

    😀

Comments are closed.