Home. in the Making.

1d3d71f556037f6e6ff19b891fbfa24c

 

There’s no place like home … There’s no place like home … There’s no place like home!

I love being HOME, I enjoy being a “homemaker”, and I am definitely what you’d call a “homebody”.  Today I am taking a break from moving into a new house – which I can’t wait to turn into HOME – to participate with Sandra in a little A to Z Homemaking meme that she tagged me in.  AND I invite you  to join us if you have a blog – and the time – or even if you don’t have time.  😉

Aprons – Y/N If Y what does your favorite look like?

I do own several aprons that belonged to my Oma (my German grandmother); she wore an apron every day!!  She was my example and inspiration to what a good Hausfrau should be.

TheLifeofanOrdinaryHausfrau_bigger

Baking – Favorite thing to bake?
I do enjoy baking … some favorites (who can choose just ONE!) are plain old oatmeal-chocolate-chip cookies, banana bread, and birthday cakes.

Clothesline – Y/N
My Oma used a clothes line – either outside when it was dry or in the attic of her apartment building when it was rainy/wet.  Every summer – as a child – when I’d stay with her, I’d help her hang clothes on the line.  Those were THE BEST SMELLING clothes, towels, and bedding EVER!

SCAN0053_thumb.jpg

Donuts – Have you ever made them?
I have!  But only by using refrigerator biscuits (the kind in the can) and cutting a donut hole out of each circle.  Then you fry both sides of the biscuit for a few minutes and dip the warm donut in cinnamon-sugar.

Everyday – One homemaking thing you do everyday?
Probably dishes … and one pick-up of stuff before bed.

Freezer – Do you have a separate deep freeze?
I do have a chest freezer!
Garbage Disposal – Y/N
Yes

Handbook – What is your favorite homemaking resource?
When I got married, my mom gave me Good Housekeeping’s Household Encyclopedia which has instructions for many home repairs and cleaning situations and other practical home maintenance advice.

Ironing – Love it or hate it?
Neutral … but I avoid it as much and as often as possible … so maybe I should say HATE?!

Junk drawer- Y/N – Where is it?
Right now, I don’t really have one … but my “new” kitchen has a desk/storage area in the kitchen, and I foresee one of those drawers becoming my “junk” drawer.

20140714_130553

Kitchen – Color and decorating scheme?
I’m going for a kind of European/cottage kitchen scheme … with a “French provencal” vibe:  rustic red, gold/yellow, and green.  No roosters though … I draw the line at roosters!!  (I actually do have a stoneware chicken that I love though!!)

Love – What is your favorite part of homemaking?
Creating order.  I function so much better when things around me are neat and tidy and clean.

Mop – Y/N
SOON!  My new house has tile kitchen floors and hardwood living area floors.

Nylons – Wash by hand or in washing machine?
Blech.  For 7 or 8 years I worked in a church/school office where we were required to wear nylons every day … well, I cheated some and wore socks (!) or tights in the winter.  I hate nylons now … but back then, I’d put them in a mesh lingerie bag and wash them separately in the washer.

Oven – Do you use the window to check on things or do you open the door?
Usually the window with the oven light on.  If it is something I know won’t suffer from opening the door, I might peek in that way.

Pizza – What do you put on yours?
I love Pizza Hut’s veggie lover’s pizza – but no one else in my family does.  😦  Sometimes I just love plain cheese pizza too.  The pizza meats give me heart burn.

Quiet – What do you do during the day when you get a quiet moment?
OH HOW I LOVE QUIET!!!  In fact, in October, I wrote a whole 31 day series based on QUIET!!!

Anyway, in the quiet – sometimes I clean or organize something that I don’t want to be disturbed doing or I read/write.

Recipe Card Box – Y/N
YES!  Plus several notebooks of recipes.
Style of house
That’s a hard one as I haven’t really ever thought of what my “dream house” would be since I will probably never have my “dream house” … but I do like “character” in a house – things like bay windows or little nooks and dormer windows.  I definitely am a fan of a nice front porch!

Tablecloth and napkins – Y/N
Not recently.  I don’t really have a lot of tablecloths.  But we do use napkins every day (paper ones, ha!) and I have a fairly nice stash of cloth napkins and placemats.

Under the kitchen sink – Organized or toxic wasteland?
Organized.  Definitely MUST BE organized.
Vacuum –  How many times per week? 
once, if I’m doing well … once a month is probably more realistic.

Wash – How many loads per week?
I’m guessing between 5 and 8 loads, depending on if there are sports clothes or school uniforms or other extras.

X’s – Do you make a daily to do list and check it off as you do things? 
Sometimes.  I do keep an organizer handy AT ALL TIMES:

20140108_130711
Yard – Y/N – Who does what?
My 15 year old usually mows, although I actually like mowing.  I weed-eat and water flowers/grass and take care of that kind of stuff.

Zzz’s – What is the last homemaking task you do for the day before you go to bed?
I usually walk through the house or at least the living room and straighten a little.

cordelia-sig.png

 

This entry was posted in home, Housekeeping. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Home. in the Making.

  1. Rebecca D says:

    You are so much better at being a homemaker then I am these days… Since I started working I am not the homemaker I once was! Ah well, my husband jokes that I invite people over so much because it’s the only thing that motivates me to clean and sadly there may be some truth in it… I would say the invite is genuine but I really only roll up my sleeves and get it done when a visit is eminent!

  2. Ruth says:

    Ok… I started off a Mrs. Domesticity and still love cooking, cleaning and all that. I draw the line at looking good while doing it. I do wear an apron if I have my good clothes on for some odd reason, but that isn’t too often. I should wear it more often. That would cut down on the grease stains on my T-shirts. I like having good sturdy furniture, but nothing matches unless by accident. I do, however, try to match the things I make… like curtains, pillows, bed coverings, etc.

    I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

    Congrats on your beautiful new home!!!

  3. melanie says:

    Oh fun! 🙂 Just might have to join in on this too…

    Nylons — who invented those anyway, and why?? :p

  4. diarysahm says:

    Don’t you just love the old handbooks and cookbooks? They are filled with so much information on homemaking, definitely my favorites to look through.

    One thing I’ve noticed we all have in common, is the amount of laundry we do a week LOL

    Thanks for playing along Conny 🙂

Comments are closed.