Happy Homemaker Monday – 7/21/2014

6617550523_f23efa4053

 

It’s my favorite (for now) day of the week!!  Sadly, I looked at the calendar, and it is about 3 weeks until school starts back up again?!?!?!?  (not ready!  may not ever be ready!!)

It is also the 3rd morning that I woke up in MY NEW HOUSE!!  Last week was a lot of work!!  And there is still work ahead to unpack things, and make this house a home – but that’s actually the fun part.  There are 4 big pieces of “furniture” (2 queen size box springs & bed frames, our TV armoire, a heavy old desk, and perhaps our refrigerator if I can’t sell it on Craigslist) at the “old” house yet that we’ll need to borrow a pick up truck to move; but otherwise, we were able to move everything over in my van (thankful it is the extended body model!)

To gather my thoughts and prepare for this coming week, I’m joining Sandra for HHM today:

Breakfast time, what is on the plate this morning::::

back to my usual poptart & coffee (real nutritious, right?!?!)

On today’s to do list::::

the big kids need to be dropped off at church at noon for 4 days of camp in Oklahoma by Grand Lake.  They are excited but nervous … another new experience.  Thankfully, several of their friends are going along or will be there from another church in our area.

And then it is basically gonna be unpack, sort, organize, and put away STUFF.

I need to grocery shop tonight (my hubby likes to go along, so I’ll wait til he is home from work).

Currently reading::::

Trying to finish The Lost German Slave Girl.  It has really opened my eyes to life in the mid 1800s here in America (specifically the New Orleans area in this book).  It was not as pretty and simple as the Hallmark movies portray!

On the TV today::::

Well, our cable is hooked up (just basic cable) … so probably Disney Junior after a while once MiMi wakes up!  Otherwise, not much.  If it weren’t for sports, we probably wouldn’t have TV … but we get the St. Louis Cardinals channel as part of our package, and that has been my husband’s team all his life.  🙂

The weather outside is::::

beautiful!!!  I can’t tell you how thankful I am that last week was SO mild (people were saying it was October in July!) … especially because we were moving.   On Tuesday it was in the 90’s, and I wondered if I’d die.   But then it rained … and the rest of the week temperatures were in the 70’s and maybe low 80s!   I didn’t even sweat much at all the rest of the week.

On the menu this week::::

My in-laws came on Friday and since they can’t help with moving/lifting, they said they’d watch MiMi and provide food all weekend.  So, now we have leftovers:   chicken noodle soup (homemade) and pizza and hot dogs.  Good kid food – except our big kids will be gone! ha!

If I have a few minutes to myself, I will::::

sit right here by my computer and catch up on the internet world of blogs and facebook.

In the garden::::

I don’t have a vegetable garden, but I have flowers!!!  Last night, I watered them and the grass … and just enjoyed being OUTSIDE.  I love the landscaping of this house! (below pic is my in-laws on the front porch … you can see the greenery/flowers a little here):

20140719_201400

Favorite photo from the camera::::

THIS is the thing I love the most about this house … a 6′ x 3′ pantry!  I have access to EVERYTHING so easily and the overview of food, etc.  I LOVE IT!!!!  I’ve never had a pantry like this … and I will forever now want one anywhere I live!

20140721_072610

20140721_072621

Visiting with blog friends (blog you want to share, blog post that caught your eye)::::

THIS POST is just what I am feeling today … I am in the process of being restored and healed by the Good Shepherd who is so graciously taking care of me, His silly little sheep.

http://blog.precept.org/home/bid/199918/The-Lord-Restores-MY-Soul

Praying for::::

my friend Jen … the one who has undergone such extensive cancer/leukemia treatments.  She is not feeling well at all, but thankfully her Air Force husband was able to come home from his deployment.  I fear for her life … but I know God can heal her, if He chooses.

My aunt (who has a brain tumor, thankfully NOT cancer) will be getting results and treatment plans for the tumor/growth as well as for thyroid nodules she had biopsied last week.

A little girl (2 years old) from our old church is undergoing foot surgery today – she has spina bifada (?) and will be undergoing some other procedures in the days ahead.

Bible Verse, Devotional that is resonating me with at the moment::::

10557419_10152315143257857_5286626967666994282_n

blog-sig_thumb.png

This entry was posted in Happy Homemaker. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy Homemaker Monday – 7/21/2014

  1. melanie says:

    HA! Love how that emoticon transfers with wordpress! 😮

  2. melanie says:

    Wow, I didn’t know you were enjoying those lovely temps last week as well — how nice for your moving work. And WOW again! I also didn’t realize you would be LIVING in the house so soon either. The porch, the pantry… Are you dreaming of *owning* this house yet?! 🙂

    School. 😮 While I was housebound I made an effort to figure out our schedule. It is not fun to squeeze a 36-week curriculum into the 30ish weeks the college kids are not at home. {Granted I don’t require them to complete ALL of those lessons in every subject, but 32 weeks is a better framework.} Last year I had them begin in August while the older kids were still here, but that is SO not happening this year. It will all work out… right?!?

  3. Tanya says:

    I guess time flies when especially when I am not right there with you!!! I didn’t realize you would actually be living in the new house yet. How great! And, oh my, I am so not ready for summer to end either. 3 weeks from this Thursday Rob has to move into the dorm. Also, our schooling should begin in 3 weeks from today, but it may wait until 4 weeks (till we get Rob settled). Pray for me!!! sooooooo not sure about all of this……Yikes!

Comments are closed.