HHM – 8/18/2014

6617550523_f23efa4053

 

I am doing a quick link-up with Sandra’s Happy Homemaker Monday to get my day started (at 10:40 a.m.!!) … It’s about time!!  😉

Breakfast time, what is on the plate this morning::::

shaking things up this morning … added a fresh, juicy peach to my normal poptart!!

On today’s to do list::::

root touch-up (Fun, eh?!?!) … but I caught a glimpse of my part from the top yesterday & IT IS TIME.

Currently reading::::

Alone, Yet Not Alone.   For some reason, this book is stressing me out…It is a Christian book, based on a true story.  The empathetic in me is in über-feeling mode, and the premise of 2 little girls taken by Indians while they know their father and brother were killed by them is just absolutely breaking my heart – and not knowing what happened to their mother and other brother as well.  I am sure the story will have a happy ending as the girls have a strong faith in God … but I can’t imagine …

On the TV today::::

Disney Junior shows are baaa-ack today (probably due to back to school) … during the summer, Disney Channel showed all their teeny-bopper shows (that annoy the life out of me and I don’t let my kids watch!!) during this time spot.

Last night I watched a review of Downton Abbey on my PBS channel … ready for the next season (6?!) … in January.  *sigh*

The weather outside is::::

nice … pleasantly hot but comparatively, we’ve had such a mild summer!!  It rained/stormed last night and cooled things off (and watered my flowers and lawn, thank you!!)

On the menu this week::::

yeh, here I am again … although I do have a LIST of about 10 meals that I have the ingredients to make on my fridge.  Guess we’ll just be surprised by what I pull out each night!!  😉

If I have a few minutes to myself, I will::::

probably waste my time catching up on Facebook.

Favorite photo from the camera::::

My kids on the first day of school last week compared to them just “yesterday”:

20140812_072242 1923366_12577230073_9080_n

Praying for::::

my friend Jen as she continues with experimental chemo treatments in an effort to save her life!

my job search (got my first rejection letter from our local Target pharmacy today … but at least it allows me to strike them off my list!)

also – despite my sending a “change of address” notice to our property manager in Missouri in early July, she sent our rent check for our house to our OLD address … and the check STILL hasn’t shown up/been forwarded.  Our mortgage payment was due last Friday – and we count on that rent check to pay it.  😦   I have to finagle money around today and call our mortgage company.  PLEASE PRAY this check shows up SOON – as well as the deposit return on our old duplex.

Bible Verse, Devotional that is resonating me with at the moment::::

5355cb55bd2382d812c28db347672688

blog-sig_thumb.png

This entry was posted in Happy Homemaker. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to HHM – 8/18/2014

  1. Tanya says:

    So with you on the Disney teeny-bopper shows (though we don’t have cable to contend with). Did you know that “Alone Yet Not Alone” is a movie now (I believe it was put out by homeschoolers)? I didn’t realize it was a book. Who is the author? I may have to read that, if I can stand it. I have such a hard time reading TRUE things that happened to children. It hurts my mommy heart.

  2. diarysahm says:

    Having just recently gone through the move and rent deposits and all that fun stuff (NOT), I sympathize with you and am hoping and praying that check finds it’s way to your hands soon.

    I had to laugh at your rebellious addition of a peach to your pop tart LOL

    Have a wonderful week Conny!

  3. jehdld says:

    Oh no, I hope the check reaches you! Could she send you another check and void out the old one? Hope you have a wonderful week!

  4. Tamy says:

    Happy Monday. Sure hope your check shows hope and thanks for reminding me that I need to cal (again) about one that hasn’t reached us yet either. Love the then and now picture of the kids! Have a great week.

Comments are closed.