HHM – 8/25/2014

Happy Homemaker Monday VintageHere we are again on another Monday!  For now, Monday is still my favorite day of the week!!  I guess my control freak nature needs the quiet of a Monday where I can restore order to the house after a weekend with everyone at home, when chores kind of fall to the wayside.  That said, we did get the lawn (what is left of it?!!) mowed, and I cleaned up the back patio and yard area.  We have white oaks (or live oaks?) in the back yard, and they shed little twigs and branches and leaves like crazy.  I also have some kind of nut/black walnut(?) tree – which feeds the squirrels, but they sure make a mess on the ground with the shells from the nuts they eat.

Anyway, to get ready for the week ahead, I am joining Sandra in Happy Homemaker Monday again:

Breakfast time, what is on the plate this morning::::

I am out of poptarts!!  :-O

So, coffee and a blueberry fruit bar (Aldi brand) for me.  I will probably eat a banana or peach after I finish typing this post.

On today’s to do list::::

Laundry.  Monday’s have kind of become my laundry day of preference.

Otherwise, just puttering around, wiping down counter tops and a checking for areas that needs dusting, maybe swishing a toilet clean…

Currently reading::::

Mary Tyler Moore’s autobiography, After All.   My husband got it for a quarter at a local thrift shop, thinking I’d enjoy it since our family likes the Dick Van Dyke Show.  I tend to regret reading biographies about actors most of the time – and in this case, I again am finding out that MTM was not the person I wanted her to be, granted her Catholic upbringing made her more moral than most of the actors I’ve read about in the past (my biggest disappointments in this area were Grace Kelly and Gary Cooper).  But her Catholic upbringing also made her “dislike” God, or maybe I should say disregard Him later in life.

On a happier note, Mary Tyler Moore really was an optimistic, talented and honest person.  She talks openly about her regrets in parenting (she neglected her son when he was a baby/toddler to pursue her acting career) and her marriages.  Right now, in the book, I am at the part where she begins working on The Mary Tyler Moore Show.

On the TV today::::

Sophia the First … for MiMi.

The weather outside is::::

Hot.  Hot.  Hot.  Summer finally showed up.

On the menu this week::::

We are eating from the pantry/freezer this week – or at least until payday on Thursday.  I have egg noodles for some kind of creamy casserole … spaghetti-fixings with garlic bread and salad … left-over potato casserole with turkey slices … beans and rice with kielbasa.

If I have a few minutes to myself, I will::::

make homemade bread in the bread machine to satisfy my carb craving!!

In the garden::::

my herbs are dying … I think I overwatered.  😦

Favorite photo from the camera::::

MiMi had her Open House for K-4 last Friday.  She starts “school” tomorrow (Tuesday) – she’ll go 3 mornings a week (Tues, Wed, and Fri) from 8 a.m. to 11:45 a.m.

20140822_094056

Homemaking tip::::

Most people know vinegar is a pretty awesome and inexpensive and natural cleaner … but I recently read it can also kill weeds in your garden.  You mix it with a little water (larger concentration of vinegar) and spray it on weeds.

Visiting with blog friends (blog you want to share, blog post that caught your eye)::::

Being the ordinary Hausfrau that I am, is it surprising that I read a blog called Ordinary Inspirations (chasing after beauty in the mundane)?!!  🙂

Praying for::::

My friend Jen is starting 2 weeks of oral chemotherapy.  Her oncologist found a new tumor on her liver – she faces surgery AGAIN in 2 weeks.

I have a few job applications in at various pharmacies.  I am still waiting for the paperwork from my school to apply for an externship at Walgreens.

PRAISE – our rent check from our house in Missouri showed up on Saturday afternoon!!  Now I’m waiting for the rent deposit from our duplex … plus we sold the property manager our fridge that we’d bought for the kitchen as it didn’t have one.

Bible Verse, Devotional that is resonating me with at the moment::::

We sang this hymn at church yesterday and it was almost like I was reading the words for the first time:  

And Can It Be

1 And can it be that I should gain
An int’rest in the Savior’s blood?
Died He for me, who caused His pain?
For me, who Him to death pursued?
Amazing love! how can it be
That Thou, my God, should die for me?

Refrain:
Amazing love! how can it be
That Thou, my God, should die for me!

2 ‘Tis mystery all! Th’Immortal dies!
Who can explore His strange design?
In vain the firstborn seraph tries
To sound the depths of love divine!
‘Tis mercy all! let earth adore,
Let angel minds inquire no more. [Refrain]

3 He left His Father’s throne above,
So free, so infinite His grace;
Emptied Himself of all but love,
And bled for Adam’s helpless race;
‘Tis mercy all, immense and free;
For, O my God, it found out me. [Refrain]

4 Long my imprisoned spirit lay
Fast bound in sin and nature’s night;
Thine eye diffused a quick’ning ray,
I woke, the dungeon flamed with light;
My chains fell off, my heart was free;
I rose, went forth and followed Thee. [Refrain]

5 No condemnation now I dread;
Jesus, and all in Him is mine!
Alive in Him, my living Head,
And clothed in righteousness divine,
Bold I approach th’eternal throne,
And claim the crown, through Christ my own. [Refrain]

blog-sig_thumb.png

This entry was posted in Happy Homemaker. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to HHM – 8/25/2014

  1. Felicia says:

    I’m fixing my carb craving with lots of pasta dishes this week but homemade bread sounds really good too.

    I like and dislike auto-biographies for the same reason, I always find something out that I changes my views on the person.

    Sweet that the lost rent check was found and here’s hoping the next one comes in soon.

  2. diarysahm says:

    So glad to hear about the check, that is one huge relief for you. Mimi is looking so big 🙂

  3. Rebekah says:

    Love that hymn. It’s big R’s favorite! 🙂

  4. melanie says:

    Yay! the lost rent check is found 🙂 Love that hymn ❤

Comments are closed.