The Weekend Update

(title inspired by SNL on TV Land this morning … that channel has a WEIRD variety in their line-up!!)

So, life here has suddenly turned into a circus again!!  Now that MiMi is back in school (albeit only 3 mornings a week), I am again on my daily rounds of dropping off and picking up kids from various activities at various times of the day!  Thankfully – blessedly – we actually have 3 vehicles that run right now (what a difference a year makes!!).

Those of you who have followed our saga for years know that I have this love-hate relationship with an old 1996 Buick that once belonged to my husband’s grandparents.  After sitting at a mechanic’s shop since last Thanksgiving, we now have it back (at great cost), but IT RUNS without dying at random intervals (called “phantom stalling”).  The problem was some sensor (as well as a leak in the cooling system, which was a result of sitting through a harsh winter for many months!!) – which was NOT the sensor we’d paid a great price to fix with another mechanic sometime last year.  But whatever.  It has no heat, no a/c, but my husband can drive the 4 or 5 miles to and from work each day, leaving me with our van – and our soon-to-be (depending on the price of insurance!!) licensed driver/son with our trusty, old Saturn Vue.

So, just for the record for my own on-line diary here, this is what we’ve been up to this past week:

Tues & Wed – MiMi started back to school, and I was asked to return to my old “job” (school cafeteria volunteer) while another volunteer had cataract surgery.  I “worked” from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. those days.

Meanwhile, Annie-Belle began basketball practice this week after school.  She really prefers volleyball – but since we don’t have a team accessible, she is joining her friends for a new sport – mainly for the exercise and for the social aspects (and who knows, maybe she’ll grasp basketball strategy and learn to enjoy the game!).   She also has PE each day at school, so she is really getting her work-outs in!!

As for her theater class, she had a “showcase” last night (Friday) and performed in several skits with her classmates (actually, that is her teacher in the middle):

20140829_195755

Drew continued with conditioning with his coach this week – but starts true basketball practice next week.  On to a new season!!  While the girls have 22 players that will be divided into 2-3 teams, the boys have far fewer participants (though for Drew that could mean MORE PLAYING TIME!).  🙂   Both teams are a combo of the Christian school and local home schoolers.

My application for an externship with Walgreens was approved, and I am moving on in the process.  This includes a background check, a physical and several vaccinations since I am working the “health care field” (to include a TB test and a Hep B vaccine).  I also had to get a tetanus booster … and I’ll just say I now remember why babies are so cranky after they get shots – my shoulder still hurts, and it has been 3 days since I got the shot!

While there is no guarantee of employment after my externship, my “career counselor” is trying to get me in at the location of my choice for a good chance.  An externship entails 80 hours of job shadowing at a pharmacy – unpaid, of course.

Otherwise, I also applied to the Pharmacy Tech Certification Board (PTCB) to take the national certification test.  This isn’t required for most retail pharmacy jobs … but from what I am thinking, I have a feeling I will burn out on a retail job some day due to the customer service side (which I am no longer good at!).  My goal these days is to get a job at a hospital, preferably the VA where my husband works … and they do require the certification and experience.

I never imagined myself as mapping out a “career” for myself.  BUT we’ve talked to a few “financially savvy” people and prayed about it, and there is no other way we can make it after all the past losses we’ve had in my husband’s career …  God has given me the ability to work, organize, and be strong enough to tackle a job, and so I am moving on until He closes doors.  My biggest concern/prayer point is that I do not compromise my family/children and their care.  BALANCE is the key!

I saw a quote recently about life sometimes not turning out the way we planned it … but turning out exactly the way GOD planned it!

This is where I am … I think I know deep down inside that I have the ability to do more than just stay at home.  It is just that I love being at home!!  And I definitely agree it is one of the most sacred callings a mother can have.  I am thankful for every day I was able to stay home with my kids.  There can’t be any guilt – or regret – now as I move on to working outside the home again.  This is the situation, and God willing, it will help our family achieve some goals – such as getting out of debt, helping our children with college, and even helping Daniel and I get to a place where we can buy another house – and most of all, something I miss doing:  be able to bless others by contributing to special missionary offerings again or giving a friend or even a complete stranger a blessing through a financial gift, a meal or a token.   I know it has meant so much to me – however humbling – to be on the receiving end these last few years – but I prefer the giving end!

And those are my Saturday thoughts.

Tonight my boys are going to a local Arkansas Naturals baseball game with some guys from church while we girls do something “girly”.  Annie Belle is on a crafting streak right now and may need a few supplies for her latest project.  I am taking a free career development course with my on-line school … and I have assignments due!  Ah, the life of a student.  😉

It is a holiday weekend – and everyone is off on Monday!!  We’ll be visiting the in-laws for the day.  Happy Weekend!

blog-sig.png

 

This entry was posted in Annie-Belle, basketball, budget, Drew, Family, holiday, provision, Random Thoughts, school. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Weekend Update

  1. diarysahm says:

    Praying for you and the job situation. I don’t know if I could ever go back to working outside the home, I mean I’m sure if I had to I would, but thankfully for the moment we are blessed enough that I can remain a homemaker 🙂

    Glad to hear that your Buick is back working again and was fixed at a great price, we all know how expensive anything to do with car repairs can be.

    Have a wonderful weekend my friend 🙂

  2. melanie says:

    Praying for you to land the Right Job that will provide the needed income as well as balance in your family life ==> God is able! 😀

    {And HUrRaH! for the resurrected Buick!}

Comments are closed.