HodgePodge – 9/10/2014

 

Hodgepodgebutton

I seriously considered coming to my blog several times yesterday and today to whine about how much I lack time to complete any task well or how I can’t even get around to something I enjoy:  blogging …

But I couldn’t find the time to get around to blogging!!

To spare everyone a post about the above topic, I’ve decided to join Joyce this week for Hodgepodge. That should be considerably more interesting!! and uplifting!! If I can actually complete and publish that post, that is.

1. On Thursday we pause to remember a dark day in history-9/11. Will you mark it in some special way?

We usually put up the American flag on our porch.  This brings back so many memories of the days after 9/11 when it seemed every house in our neighborhood was displaying the flag in memory of those who lost their lives and in support of our country.

2. Do you ever/still…listen to an actual radio? Watch a videotape (VCR)? Look up a number in a phonebook? Refer to a paper map while traveling? Set an alarm on an alarm clock as opposed to your phone?

I do listen to the radio – usually American Family Radio – in my van or in the kitchen on occasion.

We do still have VCR tapes and a VCR player, so YES, on a rare occasion, I will watch one.  I do have several phone books in my kitchen and I have used them on rare occasions, too.

I still have one handy-dandy Rand-McNally atlas in each of our vehicles …

And I set my trusty alarm clock beside my bed with my phone as a back-up (it is usually on its charger in the kitchen).
3.  Is it ever a good idea to discuss religion or politics with people you don’t know?

Sometimes a conversation will lead to politics or religion … and I think if you are very cautious you can discuss these topics, even if you disagree.  I try to be non-confrontational and very careful when I do.  As a Christian, I sometimes can’t help but discuss my faith – although for me, it is a relationship NOT a religion.  🙂

4. What’s a dish you haven’t eaten all summer, but come September find yourself craving? Have you made it yet this month?

potato soup

5. What’s something you know nothing about?

brain surgery… among many, many other topics!!

6. September is Classical Music Month. Do you like classical music? If so, what’s your favorite piece?

I like classical music okay… I don’t listen to it often, but do have a few CDs of it. My favorite pieces is an opera by Mozart, Eine Kleine Nachtmusik.  

7. What’s the oldest thing you own?

This really got me to thinking!!  I do have my Oma’s wristwatch.  It was one of the first things she bought for herself, after she had her first job, after World War II was over.  Probably around 1950.  It is a wind-up watch – but its leather band is not original. The most significant thing  about it is that I have a portrait of my Oma – taken around 1955, and she is wearing that watch in the picture!

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

As I alluded to, this week has been a doozy already!  While I was home all day Monday, and I even got a lot done, I just felt like I’d been playing catch-up all day.  And Tuesday, I woke up feeling like I had a lot more to do.  I don’t know if it is knowing that I might be working again sometime soon that has put me into this panic mode that I suddenly need to accomplish everything I have ever even thought about doing … and attack my house cleaning with a vengeance, even though I know my house won’t be clean again next week – or even by the time my 3 kids and husband have been home for any length of time!

Tonight my older daughter told me she was sorry I was so angry all the time … and it is hard for her to understand, I am not angry, I’m just on edge somehow. There are still several things up in the air until our “new normal” is finally complete.  I am waiting to hear about an externship I applied for at a pharmacy (the manager has been out of town), I am waiting to get a date to take a national certification for my new career field, and I am waiting on some money that has yet to come in from our old rental (the security deposit).

Anyway, it will all come together in time.  We will adjust and adapt and carry on once I get a job, and we will be okay!  🙂

blog-sig.png

 

This entry was posted in Hodge Podge. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to HodgePodge – 9/10/2014

  1. diarysahm says:

    It is very very hard to wait isn’t it? I think this is why I love my You’re Late Again Lord book. It has helped me immensely when it comes to waiting with purpose.

    Thank you for your prayers and your comment on my blog this morning. I am so sorry your cat had a seizure too, it is so hard to see our pets go through these.

    Hugs and love to you,
    Sandra

  2. Connie says:

    Waiting truly is a hard thing to do. We just want to be doing something to make it happen. I like the story about the watch. That is sweet. Our daughter wore her grandmother’ swatch on her wedding day.

  3. melanie says:

    did it really just cut out half my comment?? 😮 Does it still make any sense or help?

  4. melanie says:

    Hugs & prayers, my dear friend My friend left the coffee shop feeling blessed instead of burdened. Maybe you & A need a coffee date??]
    And what Barbara said above ~

  5. Barbara says:

    Cordelia, you have a beautiful blog and I enjoyed reading your post today. I stopped to pray for you regarding the things that tempt to be stressed. I have so been there, too! Like you, I’m currently waiting on some news (medical, in my case). Have a blessed day of the peace that passes all understanding.

  6. allstarme says:

    That’s cool that the watch was one of the first things she bought for herself. Such a great back story for an ordinary piece.

  7. jodaley says:

    I’ve had seasons where I’ve had similar feelings of ‘being on edge’. I do hope you find peace in the middle of the transitions. How special to have your grandmother’s watch, and the picture too. Enjoy your day!

  8. April says:

    Yes, waiting can be so hard. Hoping and praying everything falls right into place for you and your family.

  9. Judy says:

    Waiting can be the most difficult thing to do. I am sure your normal will be back soon.

Comments are closed.