Happy Homemaker – 9/22/2014

HHMfall

 

It’s FALL, ya’all!!!  Actually, if you’ve known me for a while, you know my horrible secret:  while I like the changing seasons and the pretty leaves on the trees, I really don’t like Fall.  Yeh, I know … it’s not right.  (I also don’t like pumpkin-flavored stuff … sorry, un-American, I know!!)

So, if you still like me and want to be my friend despite my autumn aversion, here’s my HHM for the day!  Joining Sandra again this Monday morning.

Breakfast time, what is on the plate this morning::::

Take a BIG GUESS what I’m having … a Dunkin Donut from our newly opened DD in town????  Nope.  Bacon, eggs, and biscuits?!  Nope.  A poptart and coffee – yep!  🙂

On today’s to do list::::

so, so much!!!  Laundry catch-up.  Last week was SUPER BUSY as was the weekend.  Re-cap can be read in my previous post.

Also, our 13 year old daughter has a podiatry appointment today.  While I thought she just had really bad posture, a teacher mentioned her gait/walk to me the other day …. only because she had some foot issues that caused her to walk “funny” too.  And so, at a recent sports physical I mentioned it to our pediatrician, and she agreed that Annie-Belle has no arches/flat feet that cause her to walk with her feet slanted inward (if that makes sense?).  So, she may be a good candidate for some inserts, especially for her PE class and now basketball practice. AND bless the child’s heart, her feet are size 11 wide, so good shoes (that are cute, too!) are hard to find!!  So maybe we can get some pointers on shoe shopping (I foresee $$$$$, but she is worth it!).

Currently reading::::

A book I won from a blog-  ENOUGH:  10 things we should be telling teenage girls by Kate Connors.

On the TV today::::

NOTHING.  Well, MiMi’s cartoons for a little while.

The weather outside is::::

coolest morning since May … 48°F at sunrise!  (not that I was awake, the news reported that).

On the menu this week::::

I’d better plan this out today.  I am doing an externship at a pharmacy and will be “working” from 9 am to 3 pm on Tues, Wed, and Thurs.  I know I won’t feel like cooking – so looking for crockpot ideas!!  The planning ahead part is what I am not good at.  Add this to my “to do” list for today.

If I have a few minutes to myself, I will::::

give myself a pedicure.  For my externship, I “worked” for 8 hours yesterday … and there are NO CHAIRS in the pharmacy!!!  (well, there was ONE, but it was the pharmacist’s!)  Anyway, I need a good foot massage.  🙂

New recipe I tried, or want to try this week::::

this week I just want to survive without getting take-out food or pizza or whatever … so I think I’ll stick to what I know.

In the garden::::

my re-planted herbs are growing … maybe they’ll make it this time?!

Favorite photo from the camera::::

Saturday’s drive over the Boston Mountains.

 

get-attachment (1)

Homemaking tip::::

I am beginning to think that I need to give up on being creative in the kitchen right now.  While I like variety in my meals, I think we’re going to have to stick to the tried-and-true oldies for a while until I get used to not being home all day, every day.  We may just need to find a week’s meal planning that works and stick to it for a while.

Praying for::::

My friend Jen, who is on trial-drugs for her cancer.   She is at John Hopkins today (she lives in the D.C. area) for evaluation and some serious discussions with her doctors.  She developed sepsis over the weekend and was admitted to the hospital.   She is talking about end-of-life issues … like when you know you’ve fought long enough and it is time to stop treatment.

While it doesn’t seem near as serious in light of that, I am praying for a job for me – and continued provision for our finances.

(Our rent deposit came in – and let’s just say it was a horrible shock – the property manager had told me at our walk-through when we moved out that he foresaw taking about $40-60 out for “touch up paint” … and instead, they took $200!!!!  I just don’t have the gumption to call him … and our lease said the return of the deposit was at the “discretion of the landlord”.  I know I have the right to demand receipts for the work they supposedly did … and if I have time today, I may pursue it?  In fact, I may send him an email and see if I get a response.  :-/ )

Bible Verse, Devotional that is resonating me with at the moment::::

I am so blessed!!!!!

839a9dcb0dcbda21561dcb44dcf530cf

blog-sig.png

This entry was posted in Happy Homemaker. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Happy Homemaker – 9/22/2014

  1. Ruth says:

    I like fall except for the part when all the leaves fall and the snow starts before it is actually winter… yuk! Right now there are REALLY bright colors and we are supposed to have a week of sunshine which I’m soooo happy about. I dislike fall rains which pull all the leaves down and make bare trees earlier than usual. We had a blizzard on Halloween a couple years ago, so I know in my head it’s coming… just got lots to do before then.

    Wow… I think I would definitely call your landlord and ask for an itemized receipt since you are actually paying for the work. I’ll be praying for that and for your friend. We have several here who are battling cancers of various types.

    Hugs!!!

  2. diarysahm says:

    My friend, as someone who JUST went through the whole rental deposit thing, do NOT let it slide. Ask for a detailed list of everything they apparently needed to repair and fight it. It is ridiculous how they take the money.

    I still can’t believe you don’t like Fall or pumpkin anything….we have to change that hahahahah

  3. Tanya says:

    I am still here………just busy as usual. I was praying over that check last week. Guess I better pray again!! Yikes! Hang in there. Miss you!

  4. Celes :) says:

    I really love the quote at the end of the post! Hope you have a good week at work and at home 🙂

  5. Rebekah says:

    Also agree that you should ask for receipts. We had to repaint after we had a tenant move out. He painted even though we told him no! In the end, R sent him a detailed description of exactly where his security deposit went. I would be shocked too! :/
    My b’fast this morning….pop tart & coffee! 😉

  6. melanie says:

    Yikes, I would be in shock {and horror} as well. Find that gumption and ask him for an explanation. {…says the woman who dreamt she was negotiating with a debt/financial counselor this morning…}
    Have a great week at work & home! Keep that crock pot busy! 🙂

    • So, i looked up tenant’s rights on the arkansas atty general’s website…and I can ask for an itemized list of repairs that they charged for.  And so I did.  Mailing a registered letter to property mgr tomorrow!!!  How’s that for gumption??!! 🙂

      Sent from my Samsung Epic™ 4G TouchAn Ordinary Hausfrau wrote:

Comments are closed.