Take a Chill Pill!

get-attachment

 

Today was the last day of my externship commitment at the retail pharmacy.  Overall, it was a very profitable 80 hours – and I got a taste of the retail pharmacy life:  long days (although there are limits on how many hours a pharmacy tech can work in a day, at least for this chain store), weekends, and holidays (again, at this chain store).  However, there are some advantages such as days off during the week (and rotating weekends), and if you have an understanding pharmacy manager, a schedule that is somewhat flexible.

I have learned the essentials for retail pharmacy work are GOOD SHOES and good humor.  I am not 100% entirely sure that a long career in retail pharmacy work is for me … I’d much prefer working for a hospital.  However, as I told someone who recently asked me if I liked my pharmacy externship, “I don’t hate it.”  So that’s worth something!!

My favorite parts of the “job” were doing things like inventory, stocking shelves, and – for example – I spent a greater part of yesterday pulling expired or near-expired medications, which meant I touched practically every pill bottle in the entire pharmacy!   I can’t wait to have my license (I’ve applied, but it takes 3 weeks to be approved) so I can actually fill prescriptions …

Tomorrow is Friday, and I plan to TAKE A CHILL PILL and not do much more than just catch up on things around the house.  I do have to pack for the holiday (Columbus Day is still a federal holiday, right?!) weekend as we are meeting Daniel’s brother for some time away at his time share resort.

By the way, this is the thank-you gift I made for the pharmacy staff I worked with (they were a super nice, very positive group of people – I could only hope to work with such a supportive group of people in the future!):

 

get-attachment (1)

And the staff sent me off with my “pay” as well:  a “death by chocolate” cake made by one of the BEST, most famous bakeries in NW Arkansas (in my opinion!!):  Rick’s Bakery.

get-attachment (2)

 

On the employment front, I never got a call back from the hospital that initially contacted me last week … however, I did get a call this afternoon from a local pharmacy (privately owned) that is looking for someone who is not only a pharmacy technician BUT ALSO has accounting and payroll experience (HELLO, ME!).  My resume’ apparently stood out to them because of these reasons.  This pharmacy is fairly close to my house (right next door to my family practice doctors which is where I was when I first decided to contact them with my resume’) – and it is closed on Sundays and holidays!!  What a blessing that schedule would be!  Anyway, I have an interview on Monday afternoon.  So say a prayer for me!!  I just want God to open and close doors as only HE knows best for me.

blog-sig.png

This entry was posted in Pharmacy. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Take a Chill Pill!

  1. Tanya says:

    It does sound like a good option. I will be praying, too!

  2. Rebekah says:

    That cake looks amazing! Will be praying for the interview on Monday.

  3. babstig says:

    So exciting!!! I pray this job works for you! Love the chill pill think! Might have to steal it. 🙂

    Sent from my iPad

  4. domesticlady says:

    You look wonderful! Love how God always knows best 🙂 Will keep you in prayer!

  5. melanie says:

    Woot! on the no-Sundays job option! …and that cake… 😎 I might need to bake something *chocolate* tomorrow!

Comments are closed.