Hodge Podge – 10/15/2014

Hodgepodgebutton

 

It’s been a while since I hodge-podged!!  Glad to be joining Joyce (and friends) again today!

1. What’s your favorite time of day? Why?

I don’t fully come alive until after 10 a.m. … I can get up and pretend to function before then, but it’s all coffee and fake smiles!

2. Waffle iron, toaster, coffee maker, mixer, blender…which small appliance would you say most needs replacing in your house?

We just got a new blender (a family gift from one of Daniel’s siblings):  a Ninja ultra (?) … anyway, best blender I’ve ever had!   I was contemplating the $19.95 Black & Decker at Walmart so this is really upscale blending for our family!!

Next up:  the toaster!

3. It’s National Grouch Day (October 15)…what’s something that makes you feel grouchy?

My daughters’ room … seriously.  I am a neat and organized person (ideally and at heart, before I had children), but my older daughter is NOT bothered one bit by a mess.

Also, being interrupted makes me cranky … which led to my life theme being “interruptions are my ministry” whether in my job or with my family.

4. Ever been to Canada? Is that a country you’d like to visit? According to Trip Advisor, the top ten best destinations in Canada are-Vancouver, Toronto, Montreal, Quebec City, Victoria, Calgary, Niagara on the Lake, Niagara Falls, Whistler, and Halifax. Which city would you most like to see?

Yes, I’ve been over the border a few times – at Niagara Falls and later when we were stationed in Washington State with the Army, we went over into Vancouver and Victoria (<–I wrote about the area in my 2014 A to Z challenge).  British Columbia is BEAUTIFUL!!!  I’d love to see Calgary and Banff.

5. What was your favorite food (or one of your favorites) when you were a child? Is that still a favorite?

I loved my Oma’s cooking – I spent every summer with her growing up.  She was an excellent German cook and Hausfrau.  I loved her cucumber salad, frikadellen (kind of mini fried meat loaves), fried potatoes, red cabbage, and the soups she made as appetizer to include Eiermuschelsuppe (Egg noodle soup).  Yes, they are still favorites – takes me right back to Oma’s kitchen!!

6. Do you cry easily?

I never used to cry much … not easily anyway.  I used to wish I could, but my strongest emotion wasn’t vented through tears but through anger, I’m sad to say.  I’ve been known to throw a thing or two across a room or slam a cabinet door.  Not proud of that.

In the last 2+ years however, God has tenderized my heart.  I’ve never cried so much in my lifetime up til now as I have in recent years.  And I haven’t just cried for our own life-changing challenges but for others – those who are suffering with illness, those who have great losses, and just sadness in this world in general (and yes, the occasional commercial if it involves a homecoming of a soldier or a tender scene!).

7. Have you started your (gasp!) Christmas shopping? If so when, and how much? If not, when will you even begin thinking about it?

Not this year … I can’t even begin to consider it right now.

My biggest issue is that ALL of our family birthdays occur around this time too – so we have children born in mid-September, early November and mid-December.  Then my birthday is also in November; and my husband was born on January 1st.  OH – and we got married two days after Christmas … so we just do all the celebrating all at once!!  It takes us the next 9 months to recover!!  😉

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

ee6d7c31c97f642d28afc93c6aa71332

 

blog-sig_thumb.png

This entry was posted in Hodge Podge. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hodge Podge – 10/15/2014

  1. Sandra says:

    My daughter’s room drives me absolutely insane. I can’t stand it, and I try not to go in there and clean up for her otherwise I feel I am just enabling her laziness, but there are days I can’t take it anymore and go in and do it myself. Must be a teen thing…ugh. LOL

    I enjoyed reading your list 🙂

  2. Tanya says:

    I think you should take a few blogs to post some of your Oma’s recipes!!! ;o)

    We got to visit Banff on our honeymoon (very pretty) and actually flew into Calgary. The scary thing was that neither Tim nor I remember much of the drive to Banff (and he was driving – YIKES!!!).

    I was wondering about a Ninja as well. I had a similar blender that I used for grinding flax seed and peanuts for peanut butter, but it finally bit the dust.

  3. jodaley says:

    Goodness, that is a lot of birthdays in one big chunk. Happy celebrating! We’re looking at blenders so good to hear you love yours. There is quite a lot of variety and price variation. Have a nice day!

  4. Rebekah says:

    Happy National Grouch Day! 🙂
    Do you have a recipe for your Oma’s cucumber salad?

  5. melanie says:

    National Grouch Day — ha! It’s probably a good thing I didn’t read this earlier 😉 …the power of suggestion and all that, you know.

Comments are closed.